SMB password issues

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
drrasmussen Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: May 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hello everyone,

I'm having trouble accessing my media files on my NAS via smb (which works with no issues from more than one PC in my house) with my android tablet running Kodi 17.1!

I do find my nas when browsing for smb shares, but when prompted for my username and password kodi seems to go into a loop asking me again and again for username/password even though I'm 100% sure that I've entered them correctly each time.

Checking the passwords.xml file also confirms that Kodi in fact saved the password and that the inputs are correct.

I'm using a Samsung Galaxy Tab A (2016) if that's an important information and my nas is a 2Tb Seagate GoFlex Home.

Anyone else having these issues and know a fix? Any help is more than welcome Wink

This is the end of the log:
13:49:40.209 T:18446744073498962224 DEBUG: ------ Window Init (DialogBusy.xml) ------
13:49:55.640 T:18446744073053145392 ERROR: SMBDirectory->GetDirectory: Unable to open directory : 'smb://USERNAME:[email protected]_HOME/GoFlex%20Home%20Public/XBMC%20Movies'
unix_err:'d' error : 'Permission denied'
13:49:55.651 T:18446744073498962224 DEBUG: ------ Window Init (DialogSettings.xml) ------
13:49:55.652 T:18446744073498962224 DEBUG: CSettingsManager: requested setting (user.name) was not found.
13:49:55.652 T:18446744073498962224 DEBUG: CSettingsManager: requested setting (user.password) was not found.
13:49:55.652 T:18446744073498962224 DEBUG: CSettingsManager: requested setting (user.rememberpassword) was not found.
13:49:55.898 T:18446744073498962224 DEBUG: ------ Window Deinit (DialogBusy.xml) ------

Cheers,
Thomas
find quote
drrasmussen Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: May 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
Anyone?
find quote
helta Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,354
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 38
Location: Burlington, ON, Canada
Post: #3
Post a full debug log to a pastebin site.
find quote
drrasmussen Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: May 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
(2017-05-17 21:23)helta Wrote:  Post a full debug log to a pastebin site.

Thanks for reply Wink

Here's the full kodi.log
find quote
Holger Kühn Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Nov 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Hi,

came just across this, hadn't checked the Debug Log, but as I do use a similar setup, I've one hint for you.

I've not been able to use the device name within the shares, but using IPs works fine. So it might work, when you change GOFLEX_HOME into its actual IP.
find quote
drrasmussen Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: May 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
(2017-05-18 23:31)Holger Kühn Wrote:  Hi,

came just across this, hadn't checked the Debug Log, but as I do use a similar setup, I've one hint for you.

I've not been able to use the device name within the shares, but using IPs works fine. So it might work, when you change GOFLEX_HOME into its actual IP.

Thanks Holger! I did try that and unfortunately, it didn't work Tongue

Anyways, I've found the solution to my problem! As mentioned in another post, I had Kodi working previously, but suddenly could not connect to my nas via Android, while my Windows Kodi seemed unaffected. It turned out that the settings of my router had apparently been changed (I didn't do this myself though!). My problem was caused by my router firewall settings, which apparently only affected my Android devices and not my PC's. After changing my router firewall settings from medium to low, everything worked like a charm! Now I just hope that my internet security isn't affected too much! Since I have firewall set up on every PC and run an updated antivirus, I think not!

I hope this could be helpful to others with similar problems! Wink

Cheers,
Thomas
find quote
Holger Kühn Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Nov 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Hi Thomas,

do you access your NAS from outside your (local) network (eg. internet)? Otherwise it would not make any sense, why your firewall should block access.

Holger
find quote
drrasmussen Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: May 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
(2017-05-19 19:55)Holger Kühn Wrote:  Hi Thomas,

do you access your NAS from outside your (local) network (eg. internet)? Otherwise it would not make any sense, why your firewall should block access.

Holger

No, I'm accessing it from my local network via wifi. I can see that the change from medium to low security changes incoming rules from decline to accept while outgoing rules are accepted in both (whatever that means). I dont know if I could have opened a port or something and kept my medium security, but for now I am happy with what I have Wink

Thomas
find quote