Exiting Full Screen results in Black Screen
Here is the log. (Hope I did this right; it's my first time using pastebin)

First time Linux user. Mint 18.1 Cinnamon 64-bit on a NUC6CAYH

Opening Kodi for the first time goes as expected. However, if I leave fullscreen using the backslash key, I can never go back. Fullscreen or windowed are both a black screen which does nothing. I can close it. It doesn't seem to crash. The system moniter indicates little to no cpu usage when it's open. But if I open Kodi again, it's still a dead black screen.

I tried installing Kodi 17.2 both using the Kodi wiki instructions with the terminal and using the Software manager. Both results are the same.
I just learned something! Through trial and error, I found if I throw away the guisettings.xml file in the userdata folder, Kodi will open again normally. Of course, as soon as I leave full screen, the black screen reappears. Perhaps the root of the problem is in the guisettings file? Also, I upgraded to 17.3
I updated to Kodi 17.3. Also, using the update manager, I updated the kernel to 4.10.0-21. I understand this is a somewhat risky move, but for me it paid off big. Auto login works now. Wifi works now. Boot time is cut to less than 45 seconds. Audio seems to be working. All my problems were chopped down with a magic machete.

ALL EXCEPT KODI! Kodi is still a big stinking problem with its black screen. Am I alone here? Is no one else having this problem?
As long as you talk to yourself ... most likely.

Debug Log is needed - cinemon with its compositing manager is not supported.

Code:
sudo apt-get install openbox

logout, choose openbox, and start kodi from there
First decide what functions / features you expect from a system. Then decide for the hardware. Don't waste your money on crap.