Issues Compiling
Hey all,
I had a go at compiling xbmc for osx today with the aim being getting set up to aid the development effort going on. I am a little bit of a noob when it comes to osx development so I'm hoping someone can help. (I'm a unix/linux dev by trade).

I started with a virgin install of leopard and basically did the following: (may not be optimal but was a bit of trial and error to get things going)
Installed Xcode
Installed MacPorts

sudo port install glew freetype fribidi libcdio lzo
sudo port install python24
sudo port install libsdl-framework libsdl libsdl_gfx libsdl_image libsdl_mixer mysql5-devel libogg
sudo port install pcre
sudo ln -s /opt/local/var/macports/software/python24/2.4.5_0+darwin_9/opt/local/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.4/include/python2.4/ /opt/local/include/python2.4

sudo ln -s /opt/local/var/macports/software/mysql5-devel/5.1.23-rc_2/opt/local/include/mysql5
/opt/local/include/mysql5-devel

After all of that I was able to compile all the files, but during linking the build fails on the -lcdio. I double checked that the macport of libcdio was installed, but I still cannot build.

Can someone point me in the right direction here?
Pundy
I feel your pain...I too would love to be able to build from SVN, but it just doesn't seem possible for Mac OS X. I've given up for now (the next few weeks anyways). I'd love to have helped in the development/testing as well Sad
Quote:After all of that I was able to compile all the files, but during linking the build fails on the -lcdio. I double checked that the macport of libcdio was installed, but I still cannot build.

You have to add /opt/local/lib to the XCode projects Library search path! But I'm stuck at libsmbclient for the moment. I can only find it in /Developer/SDKs/MacOSX10.5.sdk/usr/lib/samba. But when symlinking to /opt/local/lib I still get this error...
OK so I added the /opt/local/lib into the xcode lib search path and got past there.