Timing recommendation for 8.04?
A little OT, but I'm only learning/playing with Linux because of XBMC and figure others may be in the same boat. The 8.04 release yesterday is the first one to come out since I've been using Linux, and I'm wondering when it makes sense for a computer-savvy but Ubuntu newbie to upgrade.

For those who have been using Linux longer, what's your consensus about adopting new major releases? Are they generally good to go on day 1, or is better to wait a few weeks or months for things to stabilize?
Hardy is great and good to go. I've got it on a bunch of machines. I wouldn't upgrade my XBMC box until the devs start using it themselves, though.
Ditto what rodalpho said. I'm sticking to 7.10 until the devs decide that they wish to use 8.04 - IF they decide to do that. Honestly it's possible that there's no reason to update. I spend almost NO time at the desktop and all of my time IN XBMC which runs well. When the devs see an advantage and tell us it's time then I'll do it and perhaps run 8.04 on other boxes.
Openelec Gotham, MCE remote(s), Intel i3 NUC, DVDs fed from unRAID cataloged by DVD Profiler. HD-DVD encoded with Handbrake to x.264. Yamaha receiver(s)
It's not about an advantage, there is no real advantage for XBMC purposes, it's about them deciding to upgrade the machines they use for development. Gutsy won't be supported (with updates, etc) after april 2009, but I doubt it'll take em that long. The developers are enthusiasts and enthusiasts want to run the latest and greatest.
mh i'm running xbmc on hardy without any problems. (self compiled)
is it just luck? :o
I'm running 7.10 and xbmc on my 300gig USB drive, and 8.04RLS 32bit on my 4gig USB stick i bought JUST for xbmc. Working ok, but it just means IF you DO have any issues, you won't get support. I'm sure someone will still help, since 8.10 is a lot better and runs smoother (in my opinion.)