skinning: conditonal list dimensions

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Jeroen Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,499
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 23
Location: The Netherlands
Post: #1
I guess this could go in skin development as well, please move if that is more appropriate.

One thing I would really like is to have the various containers be resizable. This would allow more flexibility and saving screen real estate.
An explanation: it's of course nice to have a media overlay in all your windows showing info with an album cover or mini video window. It does however also use space in your layout even when you are not playing anything. You can then either leave that space unused, making it look out of place or fill it up with things just for the sake of filling it up, having a negative effect in overall cleanness and consistency.

Now if it would be possible to determine the size of filelists based upon a condition like video or music playing, this would be no issue.

So for example
Code:
<include name="ListView">
    <control type="list" id="50">
        <height condition="Player.HasAudio">500</height>
                ...
                <height condition="!Player.HasAudio">800</height>

I tried creating two versions of a listview and using visibility conditions, which works but when you have a listing on screen and you stop playback there would be no list at all. Which makes sense, but I thought I'd try anyway Wink

I suspect something like this would be hard to do and would require big changes, but I felt like just putting it out there, maybe I'm wrong or someone has a different idea Smile I assume the problem is that the listview isn't updated every second of course. Maybe changing playback state could send a signal to the list to update itself?

Anyway, no biggie if it isn't possible or wanted, but I think it would be very nice if feasible.
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 26,221
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 178
Post: #2
You have visibility conditions on the itemlayout that you can use. Combined with a conditional slide to alter the position of the origin you should have all you need I think?

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
Jeroen Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,499
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 23
Location: The Netherlands
Post: #3
How would I go about that? I tried something like that earlier but I must be doing something wrong then.
Something like this?

Code:
<include name="ListViewNoPlayback">
    <control type="list" id="50">
               <height>800</height>
        <visible>!Player.HasAudio</visible>
                <animation effect="slide" start="0,100" end="0,0" Condition="!Player.HasAudio" time="100">Conditional</animation>

Code:
<include name="ListViewPlayback">
    <control type="list" id="50">
               <height>500</height>
        <visible>Player.HasAudio</visible>
                <animation effect="slide" start="0,100" end="0,0" time="100" Condition="Player.HasAudio">Conditional</animation>

Then I run into the same problem of having no list at all when stopping playback. But I'm probably overlooking something and I feel a doh! moment coming up Big Grin

edit: I thought I had it, but no. I realized that you meant two seperate itemlayouts and not two seperate lists like I described, but you can only set the dimensions of the entries right?
(This post was last modified: 2008-06-12 15:49 by Jeroen.)
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 26,221
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 178
Post: #4
Yes, use conditional layouts. You can thus alter their width with this.

You can alter the "origin" of the list via a slide animation.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
Jeroen Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,499
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 23
Location: The Netherlands
Post: #5
Changing the width would indeed be no problem. Except I'm looking to resize it vertically Smile And just moving it vertically poses problem as part of the list would go off the screen/overlap other elements.
find quote
phil65 Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 4,885
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 68
Location: Cologne, Germany
Post: #6
bump. any chance that this will get implemented?
find quote