[LINUX/MAC/WINDOWS] Active/Passive Multi Zone Audio Support
Lightbulb 
XBMC interface for Active/Passive Multi-Zone (multi-rooom) Audio

Concept:

XBMC controls one/more sound cards within the same computer.
- enables that PC to connect to amp(s) that run to speakers in multiple locations.
- acts as a switcher (on/off) and volume control for each zone
- the only control interface needed to control multiple rooms/zones
- acts as multiple "source" switch, thus each zone can play different audio

Please Note: This request is NOT for streaming to other devices, that is active/active as shown below...

I'm not an expert but I play one at work.
OK so I've seen threads talking about iTunes and Airtunes support, and multiroom streaming, but from what I can tell none propose quite what I am about to. Support for sending multiple audio streams to different wireless speakers all controlled from xbmc.

Firstly the reasoning behind this is that whilst Airport express stations and itunes offer a very affordable solution to multiroom audio streaming what it doesn't do unfortunately is allow you to send differently audio streams to different express stations.

Obviously this feature would be disabled by default as most people wont have the hardware. However if they did the process might be something like:

SETTING UP
-------------------------------
1. Go into multiroom settings and enable multiroom support
2. Set up your zones
a) create a new zone
b) add wireless speakers to your zone
c) repeat until set up is complete
- Zones would also need to be editable
- Speakers should be able to attached to more than one zone eg kitchen and downstairs

PLAYING MUSIC
-------------------------------------
1) Browse you music as normal when you click to play a track a dialog asks you in what zone you would like to play it in

PLAYING VIDEO
-------------------------------------
When playing a video in the audio options you should be able to include zones to be used for the current playback