Linux Configure Ubuntu to boot directly into XBMC
Hello,

I'm running xubuntu 13.04, but I'm having a hard time getting it to auto start in xbmc. I tried your suggestion, but I cannot find an auto start function to choose in "sessions and startup". I tried creating one, but I do not know what command to use. I tried lightdm and /usr/share/xsessions/XBMC.desktop, but neither work. I've tried everything from

Auto start XBMC

edit /etc/lightdm/lightdm.conf

[SeatDefaults]
autologin-user=xbmc
autologin-user-timeout=0
user-session=XBMC
greeter-session=lightdm-gtk-greeter

edit /usr/share/xsessions/XBMC.desktop

[Desktop Entry]
Name=XBMC
Comment=This session will start XBMC Media Center
Exec=xbmc-standalone
TryExec=xbmc-standalone
Type=Application

Nothing works. I'm brand new to Linux so I'm probably doing something wrong. Can you help me?

Thanks,
Clif
Code:
sudo nano /etc/lightdm/lightdm.conf

Delete all the shit in there and paste this shit in there:

Code:
[SeatDefaults]
autologin-user=xbmc
autologin-user-timeout=0
user-session=XBMC
greeter-session=lightdm-gtk-greeter

Code:
sudo reboot
you are missing a [ before SeatDefaults]

and this assumes that your username on linux is "xbmc"
My lightdm already has exactly that in it and yes, my user name is xbmc. I've tried everything. Any more suggestions? Thanks everyone.
(2014-01-19, 21:11)cliffp Wrote: My lightdm already has exactly that in it and yes, my user name is xbmc. I've tried everything. Any more suggestions? Thanks everyone.

I am running Ubuntu 13.10 x86_64, I set it to automatically log into Ubuntu on startup.
I then installed XBMC via Official PPA