XBMC windowed?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Mirkha Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Question  XBMC windowed?
Post: #1
Hello
sorry if il was tell before but i don't find the information with the search fonction ...

so, can we have xbmc in windowed mod and not in full screen ?
and how ?

thank's in advance.
find quote
kraqh3d Offline
Retired Developer
Posts: 7,172
Joined: Dec 2003
Reputation: 4
Location: New York City, USA
Post: #2
yes, xbmc can definitely run in a window. check your shortcut. its probably running it with the -fs switch:

http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=XBMC_for_Win...ecific_FAQ

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
Dav. Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Belgium
Post: #3
Hello,

Just create a new shortcut with this option : "C:\Program Files\XBMC\XBMC.exe" -p

Note "C" if C is you default HDD ;-)
find quote
Mirkha Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
thank's for the help Smile
work's fine Smile
find quote
WiSo Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 2,745
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 0
Location: Germany
Post: #5
The installer creates two shortcuts, one fullscreen and one windowed

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
Mirkha Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
o_____O
oh yes in fact.
how to appear stupid in one lesson Big Grin

so another question.
i've seen we can make several profile in xbmc
and i said to me : "fine, one profile in full screen and one profile in windowed mod"

because the windowed mod works fine but i want to be in 1280x1024 in full screen mod and 1024x768 in windowed mod
why ?
to see the videos in fullscreen and to play my music in windowed ...

i have tested the two installation in differents folder.
but they share the Application Data\XBMC\UserData folder ...
don't work anymore
maybe you know how to link first installation ti Application Data\XBMC\UserData\ and second to Application Data\XBMC\UserData2 for exemple ?

thank's another time for ideas
find quote
Mirkha Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
i can edit
ok two installation works fine
if you know how to with two profile it will be fine to Smile
find quote
DuMbGuM Offline
Fan
Posts: 448
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 1
Location: Ireland
Post: #8
Is there a way to reduce it from fullscreen into a window? While watching a video for instance?
find quote
WiSo Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 2,745
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 0
Location: Germany
Post: #9
press "\".
It works when not watching a video. TBH I dunno if this works during video playback Wink

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
DuMbGuM Offline
Fan
Posts: 448
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 1
Location: Ireland
Post: #10
Ah! ok thanks Laugh
find quote
harlekin Offline
Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
Why do I have to read of this in a random forum post? This is a kickass feature that alone justifies the installing XBMC for Vista users, imho that is. Smile

If you have Aero enabled and move the XBMC Window to the top of the screen you get a almost fullscreen background where you can run milkdrop visualisation while playin music, a moving background that will shimmer through the glassy "chrome" of your applications (browser anyone? Wink ) and the start bar.

This is WAY better than the moving video backgrounds vista ultimate comes bundled with and for the first time let me really appreciate vista's eyecandy.

[Image: xbmcwindowedbackslash2qw4.th.png]
find quote
harlekin Offline
Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
[Image: xbmcwindowedbackslash3to3.th.png][Image: xbmcwindowedbackslash4rz5.th.png][Image: xbmcwindowedbackslash5yh4.th.png]
find quote
DuMbGuM Offline
Fan
Posts: 448
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 1
Location: Ireland
Post: #13
Ah, it's a pity the window isn't resizeable, for me anyway. I'm running in 1680x1050 so windowed mode takes up practically the entire screen anyway.
find quote