ATV H.264 Supported Profiles...
XBMC team, great job. I truly appreciate your efforts.

Now, if I am wrong please correct me, but I’ve been trying to understand all this profile stuff with H.264 codec and ATV. Maybe it was spelled out somewhere, but I could not find it.

From reading many posts I know that the moderators are getting sick of answering the same question too.

I think I have it understood now, so if anyone is as out of it as I was/am and you are looking for a beginner’s way to determine if you can play a MKV contained file here is what you can do. Again, I’m a newbie, so put me in my place if I’m wrong.

I know there are other ways but I basically used mediainfo to view the details of the MKV file. From what I can find, here are the supported video resolutions for the ATV:

640 x 480 - 30fps - H.264/protected H.264 LC version of Baseline Profile
320 x 240 - 30fps - H.264/protected H.264 Baseline Profile up to Level 1.3
1280 x 720 - 24fps - H.264/protected H.264 Progressive Main Profile
640 x 480 - 30fps - MPEG-4 Simple Profile

Also, the bit rate cannot be greater then 5-6MB/sec.

So, as an example I open up Full Metal Jacket and it details the profile as
[email protected].... so, I predictable get jerkiness when watching this one....that sucks.

I open up Indian Jones and the profile is [email protected].... and this looks and plays great on the ATV.

Unfortunately, most of the MKV's I have are encoded with a higher profile then 1.3.

I wish when people were encoding this stuff they would make available the profiles that it is encoded in. I guess downloading the samples and verifying them when available is an alternative. You get what you pay for I guess.

I think I got it...hope it helps someone else.
@lippsenator -> Excellent post, I've been looking for a simple app that displays the encoding info to use for debugging video content issues.

For OSX users, get mediainfo from

http://mediainfo.massanti.com/releases/m...7.7.58.dmg