[RELEASE] Hulu (Video) Plugin for XBMC

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Thread Closed
hrcolb0 Offline
Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #646
well, it actually is broken for those of us still using xboxes. At least I'm pretty sure.
find
billread Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #647
I can't help with the tech-fix here, but I voted with my account: I deleted my Hulu account, since it is now worthless to me without the AppleTV Boxee version.
find
rectalogic Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #648
Fancast has a lot of Hulu content (which they stream direct from Hulu) and does not suffer from the same pid encryption issues. I uploaded my Fancast plugin to github.

http://github.com/rectalogic/xbmc-fancas...ree/master
find
pobresucka Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #649
great plugin. too bad they don't have last night's dollhouse up yet on fancast...
find
afail Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #650
wait, isnt there a working hulu in the svn?
find
raymondh Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Nov 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #651
rectalogic Wrote:Fancast has a lot of Hulu content (which they stream direct from Hulu) and does not suffer from the same pid encryption issues. I uploaded my Fancast plugin to github.

http://github.com/rectalogic/xbmc-fancas...ree/master

I installed this into the plugin directory and added it to sources but I can't get it to play any of the series. I can see the list and the thumbnail but when I press play, nothing happens. I'm on a xbox.

Does anyone know what could be causing the problem?
find
tastypopsicle Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #652
raymondh Wrote:I installed this into the plugin directory and added it to sources but I can't get it to play any of the series. I can see the list and the thumbnail but when I press play, nothing happens. I'm on a xbox.

Does anyone know what could be causing the problem?

In both apps the lists or episodes show up just fine. I was able to actually get some episodes to play in XBMC but when I try to in Boxee I click Play but nothing happens.

EDIT: It actually does work in Boxee. I selected the first "The A Team" episode in both XBMC and Boxee and the videos played just fine. Maybe I just needed to wait even longer while it was buffering. Thanks a lot @rectalogic
(This post was last modified: 2009-02-22 04:20 by tastypopsicle.)
find
mcsmackton Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #653
Things were working on Fri night EDT with the dirty hack. Which was great.
As others have reported Sat morning things seemed to break again.

I have the dirty hack, as well as the subscription version with the dirty hack. I also grabbed the fancast script.

All the scripts currently will show lists of shows. Not all shows will give me episode lists , any that do the episodes do not seem to want to play.

With the fancast script I have similar issues though I seem to be able to always get episode lists at least. I will say that based on one of the recent above comments I did manage to get the first A-team episode to run. So that was rather odd .. is the a-team streamed from somewhere not hulu??

I want to extend my thanks to everyone thats worked on this script and continues to work on the current problems. Your efforts are greatly appreciated.
find
rectalogic Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #654
I forked the svn Hulu plugin and created a branch that uses gnash to decode the pid directly using the sec.swf hosted at hulu.com. Edit the plugin settings to configure the path to your local gnash executable.

http://github.com/rectalogic/xbmc-hulu-p...tree/gnash
find
jonm42 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 177
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Portland, OR
Post: #655
Spent some time searching, but does anyone know where there's a already built Gnash for Mac OS? Thanks.

EDIT: http://mac.softpedia.com/progDownload/Gn...30462.html

(another 30 seconds works wonders some days.)
(This post was last modified: 2009-02-22 05:43 by jonm42.)
find
rectalogic Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #656
jonm42 Wrote:Spent some time searching, but does anyone know where there's a already built Gnash for Mac OS? Thanks.

I don't think so. It's actually a bit of a pain to build.

I downloaded the source tarball then used MacPorts to install dependencies:

Code:
$ sudo port install boost jpeg giflib antigraingeometry

antigraingeometry will fail to build, so when you get the build error, do this to fix it and continue:

Code:
$ cd /opt/local/var/macports/build/_opt_local_var_macports_sources_rsync.ma
cports.org_release_ports_graphics_antigraingeometry/work/agg-2.5/
$ sudo autoreconf
$ cd
$ sudo port install antigraingeometry

Then configure and build gnash:

Code:
$ ./configure --prefix=/opt/local --enable-gui=dump --enable-media=no --enable-renderer=agg
$ make
$ make install

Then configure the plugin to use /opt/local/bin/dump-gnash (the /opt/local/bin/gnash script doesn't work with the dump gui, so have to explicitly reference dump-gnash)
find
tastypopsicle Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #657
jonm42 Wrote:Spent some time searching, but does anyone know where there's a already built Gnash for Mac OS? Thanks.

EDIT: http://mac.softpedia.com/progDownload/Gn...30462.html

(another 30 seconds works wonders some days.)

I had come across this download as well but I'm stuck. Do I need to compile this or can I just change...

<setting id='gnash_path' type ="text" label="30020" default="/opt/local/bin/gnash"/>

...to point to this folder?
find
rupert Offline
Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Dec 2004
Reputation: 0
Location: 20 Minutes into the future
Post: #658
Thanks for all the hard work, I didn't even know about the hulu plugin 'till it was gone...

The gnash/hulu plugin ALMOST works for me. I'm running Ubuntu 8.10, the official atlantis release from the PPA. I've edited the settings.xml to point to /usr/bin/gnash where ubuntu drops it. I get all the way past selecting my resolution and all I get is a black screen. The only way out is to kill -9 xbmc....

Let me know if I can provide any more information on this one, or if there's some sort of obvious PEBKAC issue here (I suspect the later).

-Rupert
find
jonm42 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 177
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Portland, OR
Post: #659
tastypopsicle Wrote:I had come across this download as well but I'm stuck. Do I need to compile this or can I just change...

<setting id='gnash_path' type ="text" label="30020" default="/opt/local/bin/gnash"/>

...to point to this folder?

Nope, this is a non-trivial build process... I'm doing a boatload of port installs as we speak.
find
rectalogic Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #660
rupert Wrote:The gnash/hulu plugin ALMOST works for me. I'm running Ubuntu 8.10, the official atlantis release from the PPA. I've edited the settings.xml to point to /usr/bin/gnash where ubuntu drops it. I get all the way past selecting my resolution and all I get is a black screen. The only way out is to kill -9 xbmc....

First check the xbmc logs for anything interesting.

Second, check if your gnash is able to decode a sample pid directly:

Code:
$ gnash --render-mode 0 --once --verbose --param FlashVars=pid=dd4e9942974869f0cac12ab9ce815da9af6f8486a433a84bda842dae193457f9~1​6aa98d95559f7db192bb69972ffc6578e87c22f6bc8eafc8a4c76b924b9800f /path/to/plugin/Hulu/resources/lib/DecryptPid.swf | grep hulupid

3877:2692241184] 23:26:07 TRACE: hulupid=mr9JdoQ0hSohpA6czVzNb8sjtx5ZZW5_
find
Thread Closed