Emulators

  Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
six_storm Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
So how are you guys getting your emus to work with Horizonz?

I have MAME, Project64 and snes9x to work with. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
find quote
six_storm Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
Nobody is running emulators in Horizonz?
find quote
Livin Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,560
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 17
Location: above ground
Post: #3
your issue is not Horizonz specific... there is a LOT of information posted on the forum and online manual on how to launch external programs, and there are several ways to do it.

lookup how to create new menu item and launch applications.

I'm not an expert but I play one at work.
find quote
six_storm Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Livin Wrote:your issue is not Horizonz specific... there is a LOT of information posted on the forum and online manual on how to launch external programs, and there are several ways to do it.

lookup how to create new menu item and launch applications.

Well I tried the Launchy plugin/script but that is not working. I'll try to look around a little more . . .
find quote
six_storm Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
So I've tried Launchy, EmuLauncher and Retro-X, all of which do not work at all. WTF? I guess emulator plugins aren't that much in demand. I searched the forums for an hour and could not find anything.

Guess if I can ever get some time, I'll just have to learn Python scripting and make my own plugin that actually works. Oh well . . . maybe one day, a plugin will come out that will work. Wink
find quote
Rocky5 Offline
Alaska Group
Posts: 564
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Scotland
Post: #6
This plugin works great on Xbox not sure about PC.

Launcher

and you just link it to horizons arcade button
plugin://programs/launcher/
find quote
six_storm Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Rocky5 Wrote:This plugin works great on Xbox not sure about PC.

Launcher

and you just link it to horizons arcade button
plugin://programs/launcher/

It doesn't work on the PC, I wish it would though. Frown
find quote
althekiller Offline
Retired Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 5,002
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 12
Post: #8
six_storm Wrote:It doesn't work on the PC, I wish it would though. Frown

Sounds like PEBKAC to me. The release thread title is "Launcher - an application launcher plugin for Linux, Windows, and Xbox (Mac wanted!)"
find quote
hikaricore Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,515
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Tuesday
Post: #9
The biggest issue is that while Launcher does work, it does so very clumsily.
With MythTV, MythGame didn't even flinch at my tens of thousands of roms.
I simply set up file types and program params and it's done after a quick scan.

Compared to MythGame, Launcher is awful just in configuration alone... not to mention functionality after the fact.
I realize that xbmc is not meant to be the end all be all for everything, but I figured I'd throw in my 2 cents.
find quote
Livin Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,560
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 17
Location: above ground
Post: #10
I'm very surprised that an app launcher is not a built-in function.

base functionality needed:
XBMC launches app
monitors for close
go back to XBMC

I agree it should be native, not a python plugin.

In the mean time... you may want to try EventGhost, it looks to have the capability to do the base functions I mention above... I've not tried it myself.

I'm not an expert but I play one at work.
find quote
six_storm Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
Thanks for the responses guys.

I think that a simple, program launcher should be a built-in feature and not a script or plugin. But hey, I'm not a dev by any means and don't intend to be one.
find quote