[MAC] Share an external USB harddrive over the network?
Question 
Hello guys,
I am new to this stuff, but I think I really understand the thing. But I have one little problem.
I am going to get an ATV very soon, and I wanted to expand my storage capacity...A friend of mine uses N.A.S but as I always have my iMac running, I imagine I can buy a cheaper USB external Harddrive and use this external HD instead of an NAS which is more expensive.
I went to an electronic shop and wanted to buy a USB 1TB HD...but the guy told me that I need to buy a HD which I can connect straight to my router via ethernet cable.. Otherwise I couldn't stream...
I really don't think he is right,but I wanted to check it with you...
Can I buy the normal USB HD and connect it to my iMac and then "tell" xbmc to look for the files on that HD?
Thanks guys
jhonny30 Wrote:Hello guys,
Can I buy the normal USB HD and connect it to my iMac and then "tell" xbmc to look for the files on that HD?

Yes - I do just that with a couple of 1TB USB drives connected to my iMac - they are accessed as SMB shares. There are a couple of things to configure but not much.
wow wow wow...
what is SMB? That's nothing to do with 3th party application? I don't need a special programm to allow the xbmc to get files on the external HD? Where can I find how to do this?
Is it this one?
http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=Macintosh_Fi...Sharing%29
Yes that's it.

You can basically set which user accounts can share their files in Preferences.

I set up a new account called XBMC for SMB sharing (non-admin type), and then placed a symbolic link to the media folder on the external drive in the XBMC user's Movies folder (it could go anywhere really but this seemed logical).