XBMC for Linux VDPAU - NVIDIA GPU video decoding support (now in the mainline SVN)

  Thread Rating:
  • 15 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
alanwww1 Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 1,364
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 33
Location: Hungary
Post: #16
Znubbis Wrote:When ATI start supporting Linux with a driver i guess, or do they have one already ?

ATI has not even gave an API for their decoding engine. We don't know yet how it will be implemented. From the news it seems they will have a completely different API for this.

Intel as i heard will probably use VDPAU API in the future driver releases.

We can never know.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
soder Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,330
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 2
Location: Sweden
Post: #17
Znubbis Wrote:When ATI start supporting Linux with a driver i guess, or do they have one already ?

Yes.
ATI Catalyst 9.1 Proprietary Linux x86 Display Driver
http://ati.amd.com/support/drivers/linux...adeon.html

/Söder
find quote
soder Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,330
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 2
Location: Sweden
Post: #18
alanwww1 Wrote:ATI has not even gave an API for their decoding engine. We don't know yet how it will be implemented. From the news it seems they will have a completely different API for this.

Intel as i heard will probably use VDPAU API in the future driver releases.

We can never know.

OK, so if I want to use a GFX for my HTPC, I can forget to use my GIGABYTE MA78GM-S2H with the ATI Radeon HD 3200.

What Nvidia card is then best to buy, if only gonna be used for xbmc, and no gaming or what so ever..? Is it possible to have it passive, with no fan?

/Söder
find quote
alanwww1 Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 1,364
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 33
Location: Hungary
Post: #19
Nvidia 9xxx should be ok (9400 or 9500) with low power consumption.

Or by and nvidia chipset motherboard (8200, 8300 or 9300, 9400) There are a lot of threads about Asus P5N7A-VM which is a great board.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
soder Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,330
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 2
Location: Sweden
Post: #20
alanwww1 Wrote:Nvidia 9xxx should be ok (9400 or 9500) with low power consumption.

Or by and nvidia chipset motherboard (8200, 8300 or 9300, 9400) There are a lot of threads about Asus P5N7A-VM which is a great board.

Are there any motherboards like this that works with AMD 4850 cpu?

/Söder
find quote
pike Offline
Project Manager
Posts: 4,847
Joined: Sep 2003
Reputation: 29
Location: Sweden
Post: #21
soder Wrote:Are there any motherboards like this that works with AMD 4850 cpu?

/Söder

No idea what "4850" is... but this board seems pretty nice for being AMD
http://www.asus.com/products.aspx?l1=3&l...odelmenu=1

I don't know if audio over HDMI works however

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
soder Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,330
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 2
Location: Sweden
Post: #22
pike Wrote:No idea what "4850" is... but this board seems pretty nice for being AMD
http://www.asus.com/products.aspx?l1=3&l...odelmenu=1

I don't know if audio over HDMI works however

AMD ATHLON 64 X2 4850E 2.5 GHZ SOCKET AM2 BOXED 45W

I use coax or spdif.

/Söder
find quote
gurkburk Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Jan 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Sweden
Post: #23
soder Wrote:AMD ATHLON 64 X2 4850E 2.5 GHZ SOCKET AM2 BOXED 45W

/Söder

As your name is Söder, I suppose that you live in Sweden.
Here are a list of AM2 motherboards with Geforce 8200/8300.
http://www.prisjakt.nu/kategori.php?k=50...=s34838113
find quote
Katagia Offline
Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #24
I was unable to get audio through hdmi working with linux. As soon as X startup up there are crackling noises. The same hardware works fine with windows.
find quote
BLKMGK Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,740
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 4
Location: USA Virginia
Post: #25
Might be cheaper to just buy an expansion card for now - a cheap 8400GTS sans fan would work just fine. If you look in the VDAPU development thread you will find some very specific examples of good cards. One thing to be aware of - many of the NVIDIA cards will NOT accelerate VC-1 video! Only some very specific 8x series cards will and several of those are mentioned in that thread. If VC-1 video is important to you then look for one of those for sure. This isn't a case where you need to spend a ton ot purchase the most cutting edge 9x card out there - many of the 8x cards will do just as well with this API and save you money. I think swapping a motherboard just to get this is an expensive way to go, just buy a card for your existig system...

Openelec Gotham, MCE remote(s), Intel i3 NUC, DVDs fed from unRAID cataloged by DVD Profiler. HD-DVD encoded with Handbrake to x.264. Yamaha receiver(s)
find quote
alanwww1 Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 1,364
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 33
Location: Hungary
Post: #26
soder Wrote:Are there any motherboards like this that works with AMD 4850 cpu?

/Söder

Practicly all the 8200 or 8300 chipset motherboards support it.

http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Products/Moth...uctID=2817

http://www.asus.com/products.aspx?l1=3&l2=149&l3=676

http://www.asus.com/products.aspx?l1=3&l2=149&l3=643

Be sure to have the memory in Dual channel mode. And it's good to have hdmi port on th Mobo.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
analogue Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 149
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 5
Post: #27
8400GS is a good bet for cheap and fanless...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...6814121235

$30 after MIR
find quote
rschwarz_jr Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #28
analogue Wrote:8400GS is a good bet for cheap and fanless...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...6814121235

$30 after MIR

I ordered that one yesterday. I'll let you know how well it works.

From what I've read it should support VC-1 too.
find quote
soder Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,330
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 2
Location: Sweden
Post: #29
BLKMGK Wrote:Might be cheaper to just buy an expansion card for now - a cheap 8400GTS sans fan would work just fine. If you look in the VDAPU development thread you will find some very specific examples of good cards. One thing to be aware of - many of the NVIDIA cards will NOT accelerate VC-1 video! Only some very specific 8x series cards will and several of those are mentioned in that thread. If VC-1 video is important to you then look for one of those for sure. This isn't a case where you need to spend a ton ot purchase the most cutting edge 9x card out there - many of the 8x cards will do just as well with this API and save you money. I think swapping a motherboard just to get this is an expensive way to go, just buy a card for your existig system...

In that case I use the new motherboard for me to use the new gfx, and use the motherboard I have now for a pc for my brother...

Actually I dont like the idee with an pci-e gfx when its possible to have one embedded..

/Söder
find quote
beefke Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #30
The latest build doesn't seem to configure anymore (R17752 is ok)

PHP Code:
~/xbmc-vdpau/XBMC/xbmc/cores/dvdplayer/Codecs/ffmpeg ~/xbmc-vdpau/XBMC
Unknown option 
"--enable-vdpau".
See ./configure --help for available options.
~/
xbmc-vdpau/XBMC
configure
errorSubmodule xbmc/cores/dvdplayer/Codecs/ffmpeg failed to configure 

it seems that in the latest ffmpeg --enable-vdpau isn't needed anymore
find quote
Post Reply