[AppleTV] XBMC streaming from FreeNAS?
Hello,

I am having an issue getting xbmc setup with a freeNAS server that i built. I was wondering what i needed to do to get xbmc to recognize the NAS. I have enabled upnp in freenas and have added the share/directory. I can access it from my network and also from winSCP just fine. Any suggestions? Im new to both xbmc and freenas so please bare with me.

Thanks!
I will be building one of these shortly. did u enable the upnp server in xbmc?
I tried Upnp and SMB both my pc and mac see the freenas network and Appletv (XBMC) see the pc. I even See the workgroup network but when I browse the network it gives me a invalid error..

Did you ever solve this?? and how?? please.. like all the stuff XBMC FreeNas but need to make them talk..

thanks
Ian
XBMC, generally speaking, works better when the serving computer shares using SMB.

To resolve this issue, it might help if you were a little more clear about your setup. Posting debug logs would also be good.

Which computer is using freenas, how many computer are attempting to access the NAS, and how many of those computers are you attempting to use to run XBMC.

Which computer or computers is receiving an invalid error, and is this occurring while browsing using XBMC or just while generally browsing?
Hi.

My XP and Apple Os X, can access the FreeNAS but only the AppleTV is running XBMC.

Last Night I tried Boxee on same apple tv and it found everything and played videos so It isn't a connection thing (hardware)

So only the XBMC - Appletv is getting the invaid error.

I read somewhere there may be a ip Conflict. But XBMC has a slightly:
xxx.xxx.xxx.102 vs xxx.xxx.xxx.101 ip so don't think it's that.. could it be?

I have the SMB set up for local and Anonymous but do you think setting up a User might work/ fix it?

The reason I built the FreeNas was to serve files to XBMC.

Thanks for any help.
Ian