can one specify the default view?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
garyi Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,196
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
The showcase view seems to be the default view, which is fine for movies.

But with for instance the bbc iPlayer this view is totally inappropriate.

and there are lots of menus, and these menus change daily, and each time Aeon defaults to the showcase view. The only view that makes sense for BBC iplayer is list view, but changing it to this view does not default the inclosing folders to that view. So in each and every case, you have to make it that view. And the next day the content has changed and you are back show case view.

Is this like a bug or something? Or is there a way to tell Aeon 'I want list view as default' Its trivial to set movies to showcase as opposed to every other single folder to list
find quote
El Massman Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
i second that. is there anything we can edit in an xml somewhere?

many thanks,

mass

Q6600, ASUS P5W, 6GB DDR2 and 2.5TB RAID running Mac OS X 10.5.5 and XBMC
xbox v1.0 (softmod) XBMC Dash
find quote
macardi Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 180
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Sweden
Post: #3
I would like to know this also, does anyone have an idea?
find quote
PantsOnFire Offline
Fan
Posts: 631
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 2
Post: #4
great idea, i find the same thing over and over.
find quote
macardi Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 180
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Sweden
Post: #5
I think I have figured it out. In MyVideoNav.xml near the bottom you find:

Code:
<include>Viewtype_Showcase</include>
<include>Viewtype_List</include>

Switch the order of this two tags like this:

Code:
<include>Viewtype_List</include>
<include>Viewtype_Showcase</include>

Try and see if it works.

EDIT: Do the same with MyVideo.xml if you would like listview to be default when browsing video files
(This post was last modified: 2009-05-20 11:32 by macardi.)
find quote
rausch101 Offline
Fan
Posts: 582
Joined: Sep 2006
Reputation: 1
Location: Washington D.C.
Post: #6
I think there should be an option somewhere in settings to change the default view.

I've had this problem forever and I very happy that I found your answer, macardi (although I haven't actually tried it out yet since I'm not home for a while).

EDIT: Tried it and it works for me too.
(This post was last modified: 2009-06-19 21:19 by rausch101.)
find quote
Hitcher Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 11,184
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 105
Location: Eastleigh, UK
Post: #7
Perfect.
find quote