Help debugging a freeze
My newly installed XBMC live on an IDE hard drive keeps freezing after between 1 and 20 minutes and then requires a reboot.

I have tried a different hard drive and this had the same problems.

I think it is a faulty IDE port on the motherboard because I was having problems with this earlier. The other one is completely dysfunctional so I can't compare. How would I go about ruling this out as a cause. Are there any specific logs I can check (I'm a linux newbie).

I'm also having an ocassional problem where sometimes before the freeze the XBMC logo comes on the screen and the program returns to the home menu. This can happen several times in a row.

I have considered that maybe the graphics card is the problem but am still not sure. I have tried it in a different windows machine and it works fine. The card is fanless and does appear to be getting quite hot but when I crudley attached a case fan which kept it ultra cool the problem continued. I also tried switching in the only other card I have which is one of those ATI cards that seems to have driver trouble so I couldn't enter XBMC. I tried ftping a large file over to it whilst on this card and it managed to get through 25 minutes of transfer without a hitch.

The freezes don't seem to relate to what I'm doing, has happened during boot, in the console, in menus and during video playback.

Mobo won't boot from USB so I can't test without IDE by that method and I have no free SATA drives.

If I boot from live CD and it loads up fine, what access does it require to the CD drive. Perhaps seeing if live runs without a freeze will tell me that it is the IDE drives.

Any other components that could cause this?
bump... can anyone help me. This is verry annoying, I'm so close!
Please don't bump your own threads in less than 24hrs.

Why not try a full install of ubuntu and installing xbmc from the PPA. At least that way you should be able to get at useful debugging info more easily.