Quick question so I know where to start...
Hi all,

I have had some experience with Ubuntu about a year ago and was a frqeuent member of the Ubuntu forums, but I went off the boil for a while and have basically forgotten everything I know. (though been an engineer I will most likely pick it back up fairly quickly)

Previously I was using Media Portal as I wanted an XP based HTPC machine and MP allowed me to use my TV card for Tivo like functionality as well. Unfortunately I had more problems than I bargained for and ended up using XBMC as an interim solution. I say interim because I wanted the TV functionality and was killing time until I fixed MP....the problem was I'm now hooked on XBMC Laugh

I looked around and discovered MythBox and basically decided that in order to keep my setup to one machine and as simple as possible that I should finally go back to Ubuntu and give XBMC a shot on that platform.

I've been reading around and discovered the XBMCbuntu Wiki:

http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=XBMCbuntu

I like that install method because my HTPC will be a dedicated unit and it appears to be nice and clean, and I assume would also boot faster. Though please correct me if I am wrong.

So now that I've given some detail about the direction I'm going in I might actually get to my question!

If I installed XBMC on my machine as detailed in the XBMCbuntu wiki, what would the best way for me to get Live TV working be? Would it be to use the MythBox plugin and hence have to install Mythbuntu on the machine as well for the TV server back end? Or would the VDR project install be the way to go as listed here:

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=45314

Keep in mind I would like to be able to schedule recording or TV, watch and rewind Live TV etc (Tivo style basically) so I'm not sure what the limitations are on either of those options as they appear to offer an identical final product.