Using XBMC Standalone on Ubuntu?
Hi all - this is only my second post, and I'm a complete linux newbie, so forgive me.

This week I got my new Zotac ION Atom N330 (+4gb of RAM) and I've managed to get Ubuntu 9.04 working with HDMI (And sound, finally..). XBMC 9.04.1 was installed over PPA. Now, frankly, it works a treat and I'm really impressed with XBMC. (The GF loves the DVD ISO compatibility, because it means we dont' have to have them downstairs!)

However, I installed the 'full fat' version of Ubuntu with Gnome because I liked being able to use the GUI for stuff like playing with Wi-Fi. XBMC seems to work okay over the top and it auto-loads on boot, but it does occasionally decide to be a window, or I get an Ubuntu messgae popping up or something. It's also pretty slow to boot. [Not shockingly so, just not exactly wow]

What I'd ideally like to do is have the GRUB bootloader default to the XBMC Standalone version, without Gnome etc. However, I'd also like an alternative boot option to give me my GUI back when I want to play.

I have the Standalone version installed from PPA, because I was initially going to just use that. I followed the XBMCUbuntu guide, but I had a few issues (Like it would only open in a quarter of the screen) and I was also struggling with the drivers. So, now, I don't know where to start and I'm a bit worried about breaking my otherwise sound set up.

Any and all help would be MUCH appreciated.
(in the menu) System => Administrator => Login window => (give your password) => Default session => (choose XBMC).
openSUSE 11.2 | SVN XBMC
I'm... dreaming... of a quiet... HTPC
Sorry if I'm being thick - but that's what I have at the moment, isn't it? My PC boots up into Ubuntu, into Gnome and then loads normal XBMC. What I want is to make that an alternative option and have the default boot process be booting Ubuntu and then XBMC Standalone (Which will have all the plugins and settings from the normal mode, won't it?)