Windows - HOW-TO use Logitech Harmony Universal Remote Control without EventGhost

  Thread Rating:
  • 3 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
TRaSH Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,001
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 5
Location: Holland, The Netherlands
Post: #241
this is the location for the reg patch
HOW-TO use MCE remote in XBMC under Windows the easy way

but do you got a mce reciever ?
won't work without

OpenElec 6.x | Kodi Isengard | Aeon MQ6 | MONEUAL 320B | Intel® Core™ i5 CPU 661 | Zotac GeForce GT 730 1GB GDDR5
Onkyo TX-SR875 | Teufel System 5 THX Cinema 5.1
HP Microserver N54L WHS 2011 10TB
[Image: widget.jpg]
when will our free watched widget be back?
find quote
lazzydaze Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Jun 2015
Reputation: 0
Location: Bloomington, IL
Post: #242
I am still an HTPC newb, so is EventGhost the preferred way of having windows boot, rather than the standard GUI?
find quote
Warner306 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,092
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 70
Location: Canada
Post: #243
(2015-06-09 21:55)lazzydaze Wrote:  I am still an HTPC newb, so is EventGhost the preferred way of having windows boot, rather than the standard GUI?

If using Windows, EventGhost is not required. You need an IR receiver to pick up remote commands and some knowledge of your computer. In Windows power settings, you want to determine what happens when the power button is activated. Some computers can be started from a complete off state or from hibernation -- this is dependent on the motherboard. Most can be powered on and off from a sleep state.

So, you would want to go into Windows power settings and choose the power off state for your computer. The safe choice is to put the computer to sleep. Then, when the power command is issued from the Harmony remote, the computer wakes from sleep.

Launcher4Kodi can be configured with Windows power settings to automatically open and close Kodi when the computer is waked and put to sleep.
(This post was last modified: 2015-06-10 01:08 by Warner306.)
find quote
giovanni326 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Nov 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #244
i have little problem
i read everything you wrote here, and now, what i want to know is:
is it possible for xbmx to without eventgh. cuz for me i do not know why, xbmx will work only when i run the eventh.?
thank u and cheers
find quote
Warner306 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,092
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 70
Location: Canada
Post: #245
(2015-12-01 20:54)giovanni326 Wrote:  i have little problem
i read everything you wrote here, and now, what i want to know is:
is it possible for xbmx to without eventgh. cuz for me i do not know why, xbmx will work only when i run the eventh.?
thank u and cheers

Yes, there is a guide in my signature that will talk you through configuration without EventGhost.
find quote
giovanni326 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Nov 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #246
oh okay, i see now, sorry again, i thought there is no such a thing and that i dont have the possibilities for that, my mistake.
everything is okay now, i dont have problems anymore, thank you very much.

really great and helpfull forum with a lot of people who will help you, thanks.
cheers
find quote
Concestly Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 108
Joined: Sep 2015
Reputation: 1
Post: #247
Interesting! I did not know it existed. I will change my approach... No IR for now. I'll try two alternatives: the web interface (most work is making the html) and network sender/receiver.
find quote
Post Reply