[LINUX] De-interlacing video in XBMC for Linux with NVIDIA VDPAU?
Question 
Hi guys

A newbie here (though one with a broadcast video background). Just installed XBMC Live (9.04.1 I think) on my self-build HTPC E7300 and E7AUM-DS2H nVidia 9400 motherboard, with VDPAU H264 and VC1 decoding working.

Have managed to get everything working (even HDMI audio) really nicely (some very nice skins and I love the scrapers) All is very good - EXCEPT de-interlacing. I watch a lot of native interlaced SD DVDs and HD interlaced TV stuff, as well as progressive movies (which don't require full field to frame de-interlacing and can be de-interlaced using a straight weave usually)

For some reason all the de-interlacing options seem to be de-interlacing to the frame rate not the field rate - so all the interlaced motion is juddery not fluid as it is half-rate.

So if I have a 576/50i source, it is de-interlaced to 25p not 50p. Thus the motion is wrong. Similarly 1080/50i native content is de-interlaced to 25p.

Is this a known bug? When I try changing the de-interlace settings BOB doesn't appear to do a field bob to 50p, it appears to do a field discard to 25p. Blend doesn't work at all and neither does VDPAU (temporal)

I've read that VDPAU doesn't work on DVD content - but surely BOB should?

Or am I missing something?

I've managed to get 576/50i de-interlaced to 50p in MythTV on the same system, and in Windows 7 MC and PDVD etc. However XBMC has such a nice user interface and great container support I'd really like to move over - however I can't if de-interlacing isn't working.

All help gratefully received - should I log this as a bug somewhere? As I'm a newbie I don't want to
These are interesting questions indeed. i have wondered about some of that stuff myself. Im sure there might be some devs around that might share some insight into this.
VDPAU doesn't work at all on DVD content (its decoded in software).