[WINDOWS] Visual Studio 2008 headache...
Hello all,

I've been testing XBMC on Windows for a couple of months now (in preparation for building my first HTPC), and I'm really happy with it. There are a few things I would prefer to see implemented differently though. So, rather than bug people with feature requests that are probably applicable to a very small group, I decided to dive in head first and try to code the features myself (I'm a computer science minor, and have taken a few basic classes while teaching myself some more advanced topics).

I downloaded the source from the SVN (https://xbmc.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot...xport/XBMC),
and am running Visual Studio 2008 (MS Dreamspark) on a Windows 7 x64 machine.

Now, I followed the instructions on the wiki for setting project-specific directories, etc, and all seemed to be in order.

However, when I go to build the project, I get the following error:
Code:
error C2471: cannot update program database 'c:\users\*****\desktop\xbmc\project\vs2008express\xbmc\debug (directx)\vc90.pdb'
tied with:

Code:
fatal error C1083: Cannot open program database file: 'c:\users\*****\desktop\xbmc\project\vs2008express\guilib\debug (directx)\vc90.pdb': No such file or directory

This error occurs 529 times while trying to compile various files before everything stops. I checked the directory in the SVN folder and I'm baffled: the vc90.pdb file is right where Visual Studio says it's not.

I'm pretty new to VS; most programming I've done has been in either a text editor or a Java IDE, as my university is very partial to Java. This is also the first time I've dealt with a project of this magnitude. I hope this is something I can fix easily, because being able to add/change features would be a truly awesome skill.