[LIVE] ATI/Video issues
OK, admittedly, I'm a total noob here. I used to use Linux frequently about 10 years ago, but its all been forgotten.

I've had a hell of a time getting any of the Live versions to work on any of my systems, so I gave up. I'm now trying the 9.04 Live version with better luck, but still no go.

Originally, I was getting NO video. Now, it seems that the live CD will boot, but my screen goes wonky, and my sound goes ballistic (starts making screeching sounds, like mic feedback or something).

I think the video issues are driver related. I have a laptop with an Radeon Mobility X1600. Windows works fine with the latest drivers.

I can boot into the ATI/AMD safe mode OK. When I do a "lspci | grep VGA" it comes back with:

Code:
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc M56P [Radeon Mobility X1600]

When I to run aticonfig, I get

Code:
aticonfig: No supported adapters detected.

Is there any way to get XBMC Live working under this scenario?
Do not know about XBMC with that graphics adapter, but I do know that the Xorg in 9.04 is too new for that card running with proprietary drivers.
ATI has dropped support for it, and proprietary drivers will only work with the Xorg in 8.10 or older.

Have that card in my machine at the office, and it is a pain running it on the open source drivers. I run a dual head setup with 2 HP LP2065 monitors, and I have all sorts of issues, like occasional screen flickers (DVI related I think since it does not occur on the monitor connected using VGA, and yes, I have swapped them around, the flicker follows the DVI connector), vertical grid lines where the mouse pointer gets fuzzy, and lots of other stuff. When the DVI-related screen flicker gets bad enough, I have to reboot, and then it might or might not flicker for a while...