Alaska development thread

  Thread Rating:
  • 8 Votes - 4.88 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Thread Closed
medicineuk Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 100
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 4
Post: #61
Hitcher Wrote:A life.

There over rated if you ask meLaugh
find
nvaia Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 274
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: -7
Location: Chicago, IL
Post: #62
If you look at djh's original screenshots (below) you will see that the individual labels, TV shows in this case, are the length of the screen and seem to blend in.

[Image: alaska_home.jpg]


Yet, mine are like so (below)

[Image: 53693251.jpg]

Is there a quick fix for this or is this something that will be coded in over time?

P.s. You are doing an amazing job!
find
azido Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,880
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 1
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Post: #63
Hitcher Wrote:A life.

geez, we all need one, i guess.

xbmc is just too addictive.

cheers,azido :;):
find
Weavus Offline
Alaska Group
Posts: 346
Joined: Jun 2004
Post: #64
nvaia Wrote:If you look at djh's original screenshots (below) you will see that the individual labels, TV shows in this case, are the length of the screen and seem to blend in.

Is there a quick fix for this or is this something that will be coded in over time?
DJH posted later screenshots with a different homepage layout (not even using these icons (which are copyrighted to someone else and imho should be removed from git)).

http://forum.xbmc.org/showpost.php?p=380...tcount=114

If you ask me the later screenshots are much better and more appropriate for the Alaska skin.
(This post was last modified: 2009-09-14 00:25 by Weavus.)
find
nvaia Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 274
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: -7
Location: Chicago, IL
Post: #65
Weavus Wrote:DJH posted later screenshots with a different homepage layout (not even using these icons (which are copyrighted to someone else and imho should be removed from git)).

http://forum.xbmc.org/showpost.php?p=380...tcount=114

If you ask me the later screenshots are much better and more appropriate for the Alaska skin.

Those are nice too, but IMO I'm a fan of these...If anyone knows how I can change the font labels to match djh's vison, please let me know.
(This post was last modified: 2009-09-14 00:37 by nvaia.)
find
natew Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 185
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Post: #66
I think I like djh's first version of the homepage too. Especially with the icons since his second layout used 16x9 images instead of icons.

[Image: spacer.png]
[Image: sigpic_40577_c179f0ab5e151a3e235988ee7abfc9be.png]
[INDENT][INDENT][INDENT][INDENT][INDENT][INDENT][INDENT]• nate w.[/INDENT][/INDENT][/INDENT][/INDENT][/INDENT][/INDENT][/INDENT]
find
tuckbodi Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 282
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 5
Location: A beach on Kepler 22-b
Post: #67
Ayla Wrote:I made these small changes to get the main menu icons working.

Go to guisettings.xml.

Change for example the line that has "Alaska.custommovies" in it, to:
Code:
<setting type="string" name="Alaska.custommovies">/Users/htpc/Pictures/Backdrops/Movies/</setting>

Of course, use your own path to some movie pictures.

It works here (although the pictures look stretched/cropped or something) Smile

So did you end up doing this AND editing the Home.xml file as per Hitchers suggestion? And if you did have to change the Home.xml file did you just change the fallback path (after "special:")? Can't quite figure this out.
Sidenote: I did put the old orig icons in their own "mainmenu" directory.
find
stoli Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,409
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 31
Location: Florida
Post: #68
Ayla Wrote:I made these small changes to get the main menu icons working.

Go to guisettings.xml.

Change for example the line that has "Alaska.custommovies" in it, to:
Code:
<setting type="string" name="Alaska.custommovies">/Users/htpc/Pictures/Backdrops/Movies/</setting>

Of course, use your own path to some movie pictures.

It works here (although the pictures look stretched/cropped or something) Smile

This works like a charm and you can edit the includes.xml to change the default behavior from "stretch" to "scale" to maintain the aspect ratio:

Code:
<include name="Object_MainMenuIconF">
        <width>349</width>
        <height>300</height>
        <posx>10</posx>
        <posy>10</posy>
        <timeperimage>20000</timeperimage>
        <randomize>true</randomize>
        <fadetime>400</fadetime>
        <aspectratio align="top" scalediffuse="false">[b][i]scale[/i][/b]</aspectratio>
        <animation effect="fade" start="0" end="100" time="400" delay="10000">Visible</animation>
        <animation effect="fade" start="100" end="0" time="400">Hidden</animation>
    </include>

But that results in the image showing beneath the frame:

[Image: edges.png]
Another example:
[Image: edges2.png]

Anyone have an idea of how to get around this, short of resizing the images to match the aspect ratio of the frame?

Thanks,
(This post was last modified: 2009-09-14 03:35 by stoli.)
find
garvani Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 164
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
Post: #69
Went away for the weekend, come back and find that alaska is out and in working condition! holy crap! Will have a play after work (its going to be a long 6 hours i tell ya!) and help where i can with my limited abilities lol.
find
nvaia Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 274
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: -7
Location: Chicago, IL
Post: #70
stoli Wrote:This works like a charm and you can edit the includes.xml to change the default behavior from "stretch" to "scale" to maintain the aspect ratio:

Code:
<include name="Object_MainMenuIconF">
        <width>349</width>
        <height>300</height>
        <posx>10</posx>
        <posy>10</posy>
        <timeperimage>20000</timeperimage>
        <randomize>true</randomize>
        <fadetime>400</fadetime>
        <aspectratio align="top" scalediffuse="false">[b][i]scale[/i][/b]</aspectratio>
        <animation effect="fade" start="0" end="100" time="400" delay="10000">Visible</animation>
        <animation effect="fade" start="100" end="0" time="400">Hidden</animation>
    </include>

But that results in the image showing beneath the frame:

[Image: edges.png]
Another example:
[Image: edges2.png]

Anyone have an idea of how to get around this, short of resizing the images to match the aspect ratio of the frame?

Thanks,

Where are you guys finding guisettings.xml file at? I can't find it for the life of me.
find
stoli Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,409
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 31
Location: Florida
Post: #71
I'm not editing anything in guisettings - this is all in the home.xml and includes.xml.

That being said, the guisettings.xml is usually in C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\UserData (on windows, obviously) You can just enter %appdata% if the Explorer address bar in you can't browse to it.
find
djh_ Offline
Aeon Project Founder
Posts: 1,890
Joined: Jun 2007
Post: #72
Someone requested I upload all the PSD files for Alaska. I'm not sure how much use they'll be, especially as they contain a lot of stuff that just wasn't very good. But it's probably better you have them than me. It's about 450mb in total so I'll leave them uploading to Mediafire overnight.

There's some stuff like this in there:

[Image: rqs_tvshows_misc1.jpg]

[Image: rqs_tvshows_misc2.jpg]

I'd strongly recommend discretion when using this stuff. A lot of it's just me mucking about and would be either impossible in XBMC or not particularly beneficial. Anyway, it's up to you.

www: aeonproject.com
email: djh@aeonproject.com
flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/duncanjharris/sets/

Unintelligible ramblings about UI design, tech and games: attempt to follow them on Twitter (djh_)
find
seedzero Offline
Fan
Posts: 552
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #73
djh_ Wrote:Someone requested I upload all the PSD files for Alaska. I'm not sure how much use they'll be, especially as they contain a lot of stuff that just wasn't very good. But it's probably better you have them than me. It's about 450mb in total so I'll leave them uploading to Mediafire overnight.

There's some stuff like this in there:

I'd strongly recommend discretion when using this stuff. A lot of it's just me mucking about and would be either impossible in XBMC or not particularly beneficial. Anyway, it's up to you.

Thanks djh. I'm sure this will be beneficial, especially for keeping a consistent look. The other ideas look cool too.
find
nvaia Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 274
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: -7
Location: Chicago, IL
Post: #74
stoli Wrote:I'm not editing anything in guisettings - this is all in the home.xml and includes.xml.

That being said, the guisettings.xml is usually in C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\UserData (on windows, obviously) You can just enter %appdata% if the Explorer address bar in you can't browse to it.

Thanks Stoli
find
azido Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,880
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 1
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Post: #75
i would really like to see those different levels of modifying/completion going into different branches and those that are just judged perfect merging into hitchers "build".

right now it looks like this will end up in the same chaos like for aeon, having 10+ incomplete mods.

also i think right now the main target should be the completion of alaska, not the cosmetics of the already given portions.


just what i think about that. call it moaning if you like.

cheers,azido :;):
find
Thread Closed