Project Mayhem - fonts not true 16:9
hi!

topic i started in this area was moved to feature suggestions (link)

i continued the thread wondering why fonts are not displayed truely 16:9. in other words, you dont get any extra characters visible from widescreen compared to 4:3. why is this?

i'll quote myself from the original thread:
Quote:now that i studied more, i noticed that project mayhem is true widescreen, but only in a way. at first i tested the wide vs. 4:3 only by comparing filenames' visible length (in my music for example). i noticed only a half a character difference between widemode and 4:3. in other words practically nothing.

now that you told me that there are true wideskins, i tested project mayhem again, using other methods, and noticed that in 4:3 you get 4 icons per row visible in my programs and in 16:9 you get 5 icons. so there's a real benefit there.

but what's with this filename displaying? could it be so that the fonts are only stretched to 16:9 instead of a real anamorphic widescreen? what a shame..

it's a pity since the most important benefit from widescreen for me would be to display longer filenames. the less scrolling filenames the better.

ok, any thoughts are welcome. thanks
i actually had that font being made in condensed style for 16:9 purposes. thou i totally prefer the stretched font on my home widescreen. so i didnt bother adding it...

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.

ok, that clears things out..

is it possible for you to release an add-on pack of these condensed fonts which people could replace the default ones with?

would be greatly appreciated!

thank you
hmm sure i could do that - but that would make all buttons far to wide for the font... - how bout i just make the listview font condensed?