General help
Hi guys, i'm totally new to this and don't really know the best for me so i need your advice.

Sidenote: I use Windows Vista, and will change to Windows 7 in the future. Have bought a Screenplay PRO HD but i gave it back already because didn't read some mkv files.

- I would like to have XBMC with AEON configured on my PC (i'm working on that)
- I would then like to see on the tv all the content on the hard drive, through XBMC configured on the PC.

My questions:
1- Would it be possible to the media center to work, when the PC is not working? What would it transmit to the tv?
2- What's the best media center to do this (be able to work with/without pc on)

i don't mind having an external hard-drive connected to the media player permanently. I've read about WDTV and Pophour but i'm not sure if they're right for me.

thank you sooooooo much for your help.
uhrr. xbmc is a program that runs on your pc. if that pc is off, how do you expect things to work?
sounds like you want to get yourself a dedicated box, popcorn hour or wdtv seems like better choices. or even better, get yourself a ion based box and run xbmc for linux.
telheiras Wrote:Hi guys, i'm totally new to this and don't really know the best for me so i need your advice.

Sidenote: I use Windows Vista, and will change to Windows 7 in the future. Have bought a Screenplay PRO HD but i gave it back already because didn't read some mkv files.

- I would like to have XBMC with AEON configured on my PC (i'm working on that)
- I would then like to see on the tv all the content on the hard drive, through XBMC configured on the PC.

My questions:
1- Would it be possible to the media center to work, when the PC is not working? What would it transmit to the tv?
2- What's the best media center to do this (be able to work with/without pc on)

i don't mind having an external hard-drive connected to the media player permanently. I've read about WDTV and Pophour but i'm not sure if they're right for me.