[NFO] XML Suggestion
Hi,
as I've seen on this forum, there are some proposals to embedding nfo and fanart into mkv streams, and I wonder why no to include images into xml, they can be embedded using Base64 CDATA node, this way it's easier to manage just one file.

Any thoughts about it?

PS: Sorry if I posted in the wrong place.
Ximosoft Wrote:Hi,
as I've seen on this forum, there are some proposals to embedding nfo and fanart into mkv streams, and I wonder why no to include images into xml, they can be embedded using Base64 CDATA node, this way it's easier to manage just one file.

Any thoughts about it?

PS: Sorry if I posted in the wrong place.

I'm not a developer, but I'd imagine that it would be for readability's sake. It's a lot easier to see what's going on in an XML file if it doesn't have encoded data in there.
NO WAY!

Folks want to be able to play back their MKV's in other systems.... if it's wrapped in XML, it wouldn't be possible.
Enbedding the XML in the MKV is akin to proprietary meta data. This is a reasonable solution, but... not ideal if it's only for MKV containers. I'm not sure if you can place ANY format video inside an MKV. If you can, then it's a better solution still.
Ultimately though... I prefer the NFO side by side with the media. This is the technique Adobe use for some image files.... they call them 'sidecar' files..... they are XML files containing metadata for the image file. So XBMC's not the only folks to adopt such a system.

Oh, one final point.... Binary to base64 typically results in about 30-40% increase in size.
Quote:I'm not a developer, but I'd imagine that it would be for readability's sake. It's a lot easier to see what's going on in an XML file if it doesn't have encoded data in there.

I know that lacks readability but, instead of having 3 or 4 files for extra information we could have only 1 file.

Quote:NO WAY!