[REQUEST] Absolute positioning of controls (not inherited from patent)
Maybe I've just missed it but I could not figure out how to position a control absolutely on the screen. The coordinates were always relative to it's parent control. After a bit of math on the 27 different possible positions of the control I'll have it done but it'll be an ugly hack using a ton of conditionals.

Let me know if I'm completely off base here because I'm a complete noob to skinning but it seems like this would be a great addition. Maybe use tags like <absolutex> and <absolutey>.
For 99% of stuff you want things positioned relatively, thus the reason it's done that way.

Why are there 27 possibilities for the parent control anyway?

Perhaps if you let us know what it is you are wanting to do, we may be able to show you the easy way to do it?

Cheers,
Jonathan
Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.

I have a 3 x 9 wall view that needs an info pane bar to appear at the bottom after you pause on a title for a set period of time. Then it needs to disappear immediately when the list item changes so the animation can start again for the next item.

So far I have made 27 separate controls that place the bar in the correct spot with relation to it's parent control. I've done this in the focusedlayout tag in a panel control with conditional visibility based on what row/column is selected.

I have to do it all again for the same view with a slightly different size so if you could show me an easier way I'd be forever great-full.

This is the xml as it stands now:
http://pastebin.com/f27047249
So put the info bar outside the group that holds the items.
Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.