Another newb to HTPC (is my build right?) What would you do?
Question 
Hi everyone,

First, Thank You for taking the time to look at my post. Blush

I am just learning about XBMC HTPC. I must say I am quite impressed.
I just bought my first HDTV (LG 47LH90) and Blu-Ray player (LG BD390).
I will be hooking up the TV and player in a couple days.
So here is my current set-up and what I want to accomplish with my HTPC:

I have my desktop PC running in my computer room. I want to install an external 5400rpm e-SATA HD to hold my movies that will stream to the HTPC. (will the 5400rpm be fast enough?)(trying to keep cost down.)

I want to buy (or build) a HTPC that can run 1080p connected to the TV with HDMI. I want it to be able to stream video from HULU.

I currently have a Harmony 880 pro remote to control it. I believe I need to buy a USB IR reciever (maybe from ebay).

I need to keep the cost down, and this will be kept next to the TV so it needs passive cooling. I plan on using some sort of wireless N dongle to get my desktop and the HT talking.

I saw the Acer http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as..._-83103228 and think this one will work well. Maybe I need to get another stick of RAM for it?

Please let me know what you guys think. I would like to start ordering parts as soon as possible.

Also, since I am so new to this.. is it even possible to set up to stream in the manner I described?

Again, thank you
Should work fine - i have two of those, you don't need to upgrade the ram, but it can help. Will work great under linux and give you full 1080p decode.

I wouldn't recommend wifi, it will give you nothing but problems with hd content.
prae5 Wrote:I wouldn't recommend wifi, it will give you nothing but problems with hd content.

802.11n at 5GHz (no B/G compatibility) handles 1080p content fine.
Exclamation 
Quote:
I want it to be able to stream video from HULU.