9.11 Beta 1,Revo 1600, MCE remote issues
The Revo 1600 is awesome, really happy with it.

So far I have it running HD 1080 flawless, killa looks great, sound pass through are great.

Figured out menu clicks.

Figured out local HD access.

Can't figure out remote.

I have the Phillips OVU412000, lsusb lists it.

If I run irw there is no response, EXCEPT if I play a move, pause and wait the 3 mins for the screen to dim, then I can press the remote, IRW will show the response, the screen comes back to full brightness and irw wont show any more commands.

The reciever shows solid red light the whole time, unless it's dimmed as mentioned above.

Any ideas?
Did a bit more testing.

I stopped XBMC live and ran irw again.

All commands from the remote show up. Also receiver red light isn't steady on.

I'm a complete noob to linux but seems to me it's XBMC live and not Ubuntu?
I stumbled into the answer after I was moving the IR receiver around the steady red light stopped.

Turns out something in my home theatre room is steady emitting an IR signal that I can only guess was keeping the receiver occupied.
Just wanted to add that I picked up an HP MCE receiver to replace my XBOX dongle, and was having the problem where I would get the steady red light on it and it would become unresponsive to commands.

One of the things I noticed was if I switched inputs on the tv it would appear to break the steady signal and give me control again. It was driving me crazy because I would have to switch back and forth all the time.

The problem appears to be that if you have your screensaver in XBMC set to "Dim" it lowers the backlight of your tv to the point that something in the tv causes interference to the IR signal or, you have your backlight set too low in your tv and the same thing happens.