How does it looks like when externel player used?
Hi everyone,

first: I am quite new to xbmc. Currently I am using a Dual Core Pentium (not Core 2 Duo) with 2GB RAM and Windows Server 2008. With xmbc it works very well to play 1080p-MKVs-files because of the cpu. Now I'm gonna buy an Asrock ION 330HT-BD and would like to use it with windows. But I also know that the power of the Atom 330 CPU is not sufficent for playback 1080p mkvs so I have to use mpc. That works with the option "external player". Now i would like to know, how this works. Is the player integrated into the xbmc or does the player starts externally with an additional window what I have to set to fullscreen and so on?? And is the player controllable from xbmc or have I to configure my remote control separately for mpc?

Thanks in advance...
mastada Wrote:Hi everyone,

first: I am quite new to xbmc. Currently I am using a Dual Core Pentium (not Core 2 Duo) with 2GB RAM and Windows Server 2008. With XBMC it works very well to play 1080p-MKVs-files because of the cpu. Now I'm gonna buy an Asrock ION 330HT-BD and would like to use it with windows. But I also know that the power of the Atom 330 CPU is not sufficent for playback 1080p mkvs so I have to use mpc. That works with the option "external player". Now i would like to know, how this works. Is the player integrated into the xbmc or does the player starts externally with an additional window what I have to set to fullscreen and so on?? And is the player controllable from xbmc or have I to configure my remote control separately for mpc?

Thanks in advance...

if you know what a command prompt is in windows. Its like doing c:\mplayer\mplayer.exe "d:\yourvideo.avi" -fs
from xbmc when the mplayer.exe quit its coming back to xbmc
It is a separate process altogether although in recent times, the transition from XBMC active window to the external player is much better than the early days so yes to: