[Live] How can I implement Gigabit Lan Driver?
Hi everybody!Big Grin

After messing around with win7 and xbmc and not getting 1080p stutterfree, I tried the installation on SD Card/USB with XBMC Live 9.11beta1.

Watching Videos is working flawlessly now, thanks to the devs...!!!Nod

But within the installation process, my ethernet card was´nt installed, and afterwards I wasnt able to use netbased content.Sad

The driver for the Atheros ar8131 seems to be not included. I ve found the linux driver package as tar.gz and unpacked it to a usb stick. I tried to set it up within the installation progress of LIVE, but the pendrive/driver couldnt be recognised.Blush

So what am I doing wrong, or how can I install the driver afterwards?
Unfortunately Im a totally linux noob, but nevertheless I have found a way to open the console in xbmc...

But thats all I can do now, I dont even know how to change to the right usb-directory with the console, please help...!Wink

Best regards
Hi

I'm encountering the same problem with my Atheros AR8131 LAN chipset HTPC and XBMC Live 9.11beta1. After a lot of research I thought I had cracked it, but I still can't get eth0 up so maybe my problem is hardware based.

I will post what I did in the hope it might help you. Also if anyone else out there has knowledge of this maybe they can point to anything I am doing wrong. I am a noob when it comes to Linux and XBMC.

First I compiled XBMC Live to my USB stick from a laptop to run on my HTPC. My HTPC has no CD/DVD drive so I had to do this on another computer.

I found the drivers difficult to find as the manufacturers website appears offline: http://partner.atheros.com/Drivers.aspx. So I found the drivers from someone else who had put them up here: http://hbcapps.com/miight/crap/AR81Famil....10.tar.gz.