No internet connection, no hard drive
Hi people,

I've recently installed xmbc live on a dedicated media pc in my living room. The install went fine, my trouble is now configuring everything so I can get my internet connection working, the correct IP so I can filezilla stuff to xbmc, and enabling xbmc to see my second hard drive with all my media that I have in the computer.

Specifically though, this is down to the fact that I am very new to linux and xbmc live so I haven't got a clue as to how I can edit the files to enable me to do these things.

I know I have to edit the grub/menu.lst file to get it to recognise other hard drives but I have no clue how to access this. I did try pressing esc when booting up and editing the command line to remove 'nodiskmount' which worked great but of course you would have to do that each time you switch on the machine.

Also I have a Belkin Wireless G+ card which I need to get working, should this be detected and configured automatically by xbmc or do I have to do something?

Thanks
To access the stuff on your second harddrive, you don't have to edit any grub files.

Your second harddrive is probably already detected, and just need to be mounted. (Think assigned to a driver letter like D:, in windows terms.)

To find out the name of the drive type this and press tab instead of return:
Code:
ls /dev/sd
This should display all you harddrives. /dev/sda,b,c are your harddrives and the numbers are the partitions on those drives. E.g. /dev/sdb3 is the third partition on the second drive.

To mount it you first need to create an empty folder somewhere:
Code:
mkdir ~/harddrive
Then do the acctual mount:
Code:
sudo mount /dev/sdb1 ~/harddrive

Now you should be able to access it in xbmc.

If it works as expected, you can make it permanent by editing the file /etc/fstab.

That's all the time I have right now. Good luck!
Thanks for the info.