(Live) SPDIF not working in Camelot
Hi guys,

I am having the same issue (albeit with the Live Camelot version) as the following guy in this thread: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=62876.

System Specs:
AMD 3200+
MSI Nforce4 K8N SLI
Geforce 8400GS
RealTek ALC850 integrated audio chipset
Logitech Z-5500's

on

XBMC Live Camelot (9.11)

What happens

When using an Optical cable the audio works in menu's and when playing non-digital audio (such as standard avi's) however as soon as I open a 5.1 encoded movie there is no audio at all. Seems like XBMC is not passing the digital signal through to the Logitech's.

-------------------

I have come from using an Xbox (I have been using XBMC happily for 5 years now on my Xbox) with the latest T3CH release on it which worked perfectly using the same Optical cable and Logitech Speakers. This could be some sort of driver issue? I have looked for newer drivers for the ALC850 chipset on the Realtek site however they date back 2 years and I am sure the latest build of Ubuntu that XBMC was 'built' on would have these already installed.

So can anyone help me?

Update:
I know someone else who has tried out XBMC Live (Camelot) however they have a Nforce 3 motherboard (which would have a slightly older Realtek audio chipset) and they have the exact same problem. He tried installing XP and then the Windows XBMC version which then works fine with Digital Audio which does make it seem as if it is simply a driver version. I would really prefer not to have to go the XP route as I am quite happy with the Live version (with this one obvious exception of course).

Thanks
Bump
http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=HOW-TO_submi...Bug_Report
althekiller, thanks for the tips I really appreciate it :-)