[Question] Possible to stream XBMC to Xbox 360 by pretending to be WMC
Hey all,

I don't post here a lot, but I had a thought recently for the hacker Guru's out there. First, how I came to the idea (which I hope hasn't been discussed elsewhere). I found a site that allowed me to replace the background of my Windows Media Center program. It showed nicely on my PC, but I was shocked that it translated over to my Xbox 360. This leads me to believe that the Xbox is basically streaming Media Center from my PC.

Is it remotely possible to hack Windows Media Center to the point that it becomes XBMC? I'm not at all familiar with WMC and it's architecture, but what if someone could fool Windows into running XBMC in place of WMC? Then this could show on the Xbox 360 when I click on Media Center?

Again, I have no knowledge of how to create this type of hack, just merely the thought process behind it. Nod

Eggdashure
I didn't read any of your post. But, NO!
Wow! Thanks for putting aside all my beliefs in anything you say! Could you maybe elaborate a little bit?
First search Wink
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid...t=xbox+360
Correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe that the 360 uses a DLNA or UPnP client to pull that info from your MCE "server".

XBMC is not a DLNA server.

So, I think you're really stuck with the 360's interface, I believe.

The initial negative response to your post was because people routinely ask if they can get XBMC to run on the xbox 360, and there are questions everywhere about it and even stickies on why that can't happen.

Sounds like you were asking a slightly different question though.
The initial negative response, I'm sure was about INSTALLING XBMC on the 360. That's been discussed to death. The idea of using xbmc as a dlna server is kind of a neat one, but I personally don't know where you'd go to start with something like that.
See what happens when you choose a poor thread title?