ASRock ION 330HT too loud - replacing the fan?
Hey,

i got 2 ASRock ION330. An old one and a new one (330HT). I noticed that the the 330HT is much louder than the 1st generation of ION330. So i read in different forums about reasons for that.

The main-reason, which is obviously clear, must be the fans. Here is what i found out about it:

There are two fans. One is on the back of the device, which can be reached easily and one is integrated and can not be reached without problems. The first fan on the back is the same in both devices. I took the one from the old ASRock and replaced the one in the 330HT. The noise is exactly the same as before. So it MUST be the other fan, which is responsible for the higher noise.

So i went further and removed the essential parts to see what fan it is... I am not an expert, but it seems that the fan in the 330HT is a bit smaller than the an in the old one (I read something about 30mm, which is uncommon and hard to find). I turned the device on and noticed that this smaller fan is the reason... like expected.

So here are my questions:

- Can someone tell me the specifications of this second fan? (Size, air volume, etc.)
- Is it possible/senseful to use a fan with bigger size (e.g. 40mm as replacement for 30mm)?
- What minimum air volume / fan speed is needed for replacing the fan with one that is more silent to get the optimal noise-level/cooling?
- Perhaps someone can recommend me a piece of hardware, which he uses himself and give me a link to a howto or something (I'm from Germany, so it would be helpful to respect that fact)

Thank you
I cannot answer your questions but I just want to confirm your experiences with the old and new version of the asrock. I bought the asrock 330 HT and my mother in law has the old one. That one is much more silent than the new one is. A really high pitch sound which is pretty annoying!