[MOD] MediaStream 1.5 for Xbox

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Waffa Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,163
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 7
Location: Netherlands
Thumbs Up  [MOD] MediaStream 1.5 for Xbox
Post: #1
This mod is special made for the xbox...

Added: Skinsettings to hide views !!

See skinsettings/
Movies --> to hide views for Movies/TvShows
Video --> to hide views for videos
Music --> to hide views for Musicfiles/library/playlist
Pictures --> to hide views for pictures

Hiding views will speed up the skin and gain more free memory....Nod
so the more views you hide the better the skin will perform on the xbox.

Another memory tip ! Use "Alt Massive" fonts (saves 2MB)Wink
set it in : System/settings/appearance/skin/fonts

Edit: New upload...
Download: MediaStream-x

Have fun you guys ...greetings Waffa! Big Grin
(This post was last modified: 2010-01-17 20:02 by Waffa.)
find quote
mcborzu Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 3,381
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 15
Location: dsf
Post: #2
I'm using Windows 7 and am getting texture.xpr is corrupt error.
find quote
Waffa Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,163
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 7
Location: Netherlands
Post: #3
Huh, looking after it.
Didn't change anything to Textures.xpr...must be the upload..

Yep wait a moment will do new upload.
(This post was last modified: 2010-01-17 19:18 by Waffa.)
find quote
Waffa Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,163
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 7
Location: Netherlands
Post: #4
Download should be fine now...

Please let me know if it works fine for you on the xbox.Nod
find quote
kautious Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: San Diego Ca,
Post: #5
Im getting about 16-18mb when Im in my movie library now, but Im also getting a high CPU reading in " list Info View".

HTPC
Operating System: Win7 64-Bit Pro w/SP1
System: Intel Core2Duo 3.0Ghz / 4GB PC6400 DDR2 / ATI HD 7770 1GB GDDR5
XBMC Build: Kodi 14.0
Remote: Harmony One and HP Receiver
Display: 65" Toshiba dlp HDTV
XBOX
XBox Version: 1.6b
Xbox Mod: XboxHDM (Ndure)
Xbox Hard Drive: Seagate 400GB[/size]
find quote
kautious Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: San Diego Ca,
Post: #6
A run down of your mod on my xbox and my 2 cents!
I have:
Posters 192, fanart 960x540 (custom background off) and only one view available "Info View" for movies and using Alt Massive" fonts.
Still getting high CPUEek

But something that's cool with your mod is that if I turn off my fanart for my movies, I get 20mb free that holds steady even if I hold the down button on my remote.
Without the mod it would keep dropping from 17mb down to 4kb then freeze Big Grin

HTPC
Operating System: Win7 64-Bit Pro w/SP1
System: Intel Core2Duo 3.0Ghz / 4GB PC6400 DDR2 / ATI HD 7770 1GB GDDR5
XBMC Build: Kodi 14.0
Remote: Harmony One and HP Receiver
Display: 65" Toshiba dlp HDTV
XBOX
XBox Version: 1.6b
Xbox Mod: XboxHDM (Ndure)
Xbox Hard Drive: Seagate 400GB[/size]
find quote
Waffa Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,163
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 7
Location: Netherlands
Post: #7
High CPU isn't in my hands No didn't change anything in the views, MediaStream had always high CPU usage on the xbox but was never a big issue.

Did had some test time myself today on the xbox and there's still work to be done..

For Example Home Screen :
In the time the skin was developped, Multi image wasn't possible in home screen, so they had to code the smooth background transaction themselve, that time they did a hell of a job but is very bad for your free memory on your xbox.
Everytime you open a new category/background it will keep that in memory and you will end up with no memory Frown

If you set custom backgrounds and use them for home screen you won't have this problem !!! But you will miss the smooth transaction.

I already asked Skunk for Multiimages support in homescreen.
He said:
"I hope to re-write it in a more standard way for the next release."

Big Grin If he makes it more standard... Homescreen won't be a problem anymore on the xbox Nod

Found another trick on the forum that I want to try.
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?p=4...post486983

Memory problems begins with "not be able to start a file"
<visible>![Player.HasVideo | Player.Caching | Player.Seeking]</visible>
Means that the fanart is not visible while.....
And if, memory is instantly given back to XBMC ....... I need to look at this.

Lite textures / resize or hide fanart are also option to gain memory.
Which are btw not my favorit ways to gain memory.

I like to make the skin xbox friendly but my testing time is very limited on the xbox, u know wife/kids use the tv/xbox and main skin is MiniMeedia Waffa!

I would appreciated some help with testing on xbox Nod
(This post was last modified: 2010-01-18 23:08 by Waffa.)
find quote
kautious Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: San Diego Ca,
Post: #8
For my home screen i have disable the Recently Added Videos just the make the home screen a little more snappy.

And with your testing on the home screen, have you found that if you would choose a custom background folder/Image, the left side with the text would not change? For every category I have a custom Image/folder and for a split sec. it will load the default image that will just drains the crap out of the xbox!

I dont have so much of a problem with lite textures but I do hate turn off fanart and my media flags. I didnt like the fact I have to change them to 960x540 from 720pNo

Sounds like that might be the solution:
<visible>![Player.HasVideo | Player.Caching | Player.Seeking]</visible>

I can test it if you can put it in the skin some howCool

HTPC
Operating System: Win7 64-Bit Pro w/SP1
System: Intel Core2Duo 3.0Ghz / 4GB PC6400 DDR2 / ATI HD 7770 1GB GDDR5
XBMC Build: Kodi 14.0
Remote: Harmony One and HP Receiver
Display: 65" Toshiba dlp HDTV
XBOX
XBox Version: 1.6b
Xbox Mod: XboxHDM (Ndure)
Xbox Hard Drive: Seagate 400GB[/size]
find quote
Waffa Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,163
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 7
Location: Netherlands
Post: #9
When home from work will upload a modded home.xml
Deleted code for default background images in home, you must set cusbackgrounds images/folders then but no memory problems this way.

Will also upload new includes .xml with the visible tag for fanart.
find quote
nabz Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Sep 2007
Reputation: 2
Location: Spain
Post: #10
Thanks!!!
I couldn't play video files from XBSP with MediaStream v1.50 ... not enought memory ...Now I can!!!
find quote
nabz Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Sep 2007
Reputation: 2
Location: Spain
Post: #11
Hi again,
also you can change the translation files (I posted the Spanish changes in the Translations thread and some posted the Greek translation file updated)

Thanks

Waffa Wrote:When home from work will upload a modded home.xml
Deleted code for default background images in home, you must set cusbackgrounds images/folders then but no memory problems this way.

Will also upload new includes .xml with the visible tag for fanart.
find quote
Waffa Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,163
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 7
Location: Netherlands
Post: #12
nabz Wrote:Hi again,
also you can change the translation files (I posted the Spanish changes in the Translations thread and some posted the Greek translation file updated)

Thanks

Skunk, will update the language files with next version MediaStream-x is based on latest version Wink

Here's the modded Home.xml (Copy the text in a textfile and call it Home.xmlWink)
http://pastebin.com/m37a4194b

Note : You need to set custombackground images/folders otherwise blackscreen ! I did test with folders and have no memory problems.
Btw don't forget to enable in skinsettings custom backgrounds on home screen.


<visible>![Player.HasVideo | Player.Caching | Player.Seeking]</visible>

Did test it and imo it makes no differents...but for those who want to test it.
Add to line 1158 col 100 See red in code)
Code:
<control type="multiimage">
          <description>Fanart background</description>
          <include>FullScreenBGImage</include>
          <imagepath background="true">$INFO[ListItem.Property(fanart_image)]</imagepath>
          <visible>!IsEmpty(ListItem.Property(fanart_image)) + !Skin.HasSetting(HideFanartForMovies) + [color=red]![Player.HasVideo | Player.Caching | Player.Seeking][/color]</visible>
          <include>BackgroundFade</include>
        </control>

This is for video.
Do the same for movies see: line 1195 col 101
And Tv Shows see: line 1233 col 61
(This post was last modified: 2010-01-19 20:24 by Waffa.)
find quote
kautious Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: San Diego Ca,
Post: #13
Thanks Waffa for the Home.xml really does helpBig Grin

Maybe Im putting this in the wrong place but I was trying to change the contrast and audio setting when watching a movie and I have no icons to select. All I see is the progress bar, finish time and that's it.Eek

HTPC
Operating System: Win7 64-Bit Pro w/SP1
System: Intel Core2Duo 3.0Ghz / 4GB PC6400 DDR2 / ATI HD 7770 1GB GDDR5
XBMC Build: Kodi 14.0
Remote: Harmony One and HP Receiver
Display: 65" Toshiba dlp HDTV
XBOX
XBox Version: 1.6b
Xbox Mod: XboxHDM (Ndure)
Xbox Hard Drive: Seagate 400GB[/size]
find quote
Waffa Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,163
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 7
Location: Netherlands
Post: #14
That's the info button.. try the menu button Wink
find quote
kautious Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: San Diego Ca,
Post: #15
Waffa Wrote:That's the info button.. try the menu button Wink

"Hello, McFly?"Try the menu button" lolLaugh

Edit: Ok my Keymap for my harmony remote was worng

HTPC
Operating System: Win7 64-Bit Pro w/SP1
System: Intel Core2Duo 3.0Ghz / 4GB PC6400 DDR2 / ATI HD 7770 1GB GDDR5
XBMC Build: Kodi 14.0
Remote: Harmony One and HP Receiver
Display: 65" Toshiba dlp HDTV
XBOX
XBox Version: 1.6b
Xbox Mod: XboxHDM (Ndure)
Xbox Hard Drive: Seagate 400GB[/size]
(This post was last modified: 2010-01-20 00:06 by kautious.)
find quote
Post Reply