I am new to open source coding, how can I start developing code for XBMC?
Question 
Hey there,

I'm Andrew and I've been following this project closely for the last few years and I decided it was time to through my hat in the ring and actually contribute some code.

I come from a Java coding background so converting over to C/C++ shouldn't be too hard once I get set up etc.

Before I start I have a couple of questions that I couldn't find searching the forums.

1. I'm looking at coding on on an Ubuntu 9.04 (although I read on the sticky note that only Ubuntu 7.04 is supported so I might change) on a VirtualBox VM. Are they issues coding on a VM? Or should I man up and fix my native Ubuntu partition. Or are the better distributions to code on?

Also what IDEs do people use on Linux for C / C++? I've looked into using Eclispe with the CDT plugin. I've also seen people mention kdevelop4 as well as Vim.

2. I've looked on http://trac.xbmc.org at the feature requests but I am unsure how I assign one to myself (or is that jumping the gun? Laugh). Do I just submit a patch and reference the feature request id?

Thanks in advance people.

Andrew
1) developing on a vm works. running your results on it is another matter, dependng on your vm software it might not virtualize opengl properly. i would suggest coding on your native os, whether that is osx, windows or linux.

i use vim, which is hardly an IDE Smile it's a text-editor on stereoids. if you are used to eclipse+java i suggest you stay with eclipse. the first few weeks of vim is not for the weak-hearted (not that i'm calling you one - just that it has quite a steep learning curve).