[WINDOWS] EDL & C++ Media Player File
Hello,

Does XBMC use a single player to play back all content sources? For example, I am using Boxee code which supports Netflix, Hulu, etc.

Is the playback all handled by a single player with source code or does each service have there own playback feature?

I am wanting to implement essentially a more complex version of EDL that does commercial skipping, etc. I also am curious to try this with Netflix provided through Boxee. I know there are no commercials but I want to play around with the mute controls, skipping controls, etc., inside of the Netflix environment.

I have read a little and EDL seems promising as the tools with which I would work. Which source code files does EDL affect? Which source code file is the main playback file that contains the player for all streams? How would I implement EDL on something like Netflix where it is going to be a bizarre, possibly dynamic file name?

Thanks for your help. I am new at all of this so I apologize in advance for posting what are likely trivial questions. This is part of a senior capstone university project so I confess to being a beginner in this field.

I'd appreciate responses.

Joseph Irvine
[email protected]
the netflix player is completely closed source and out of your control to do anything with pretty much. xbmc does all video playback through dvdplayer (dubious name eh ;P). we already support most edl features afaik. xbmc/cores/dvdplayer is where the code is at - have at it.
Hello,

Well, I can always hope on that "pretty much" caveat you give. I know the Netflix codec is closed-source. Do the playback features run through DVDPlayer.cpp as well? I noticed there was also an EDL.cpp as part of the Boxee distribution.

You obviously have remote control capabilities over Netflix so somehow, there are triggers that are passed as parameters to the closed-source player. That is really all I am after.