Use an Onkyo remote (universal remote) to control XBMC? (On a mini...)
The Onkyo remote lets you program codes into it so you can control different devices. For instance I can control my Plasma using the remote. I'd really love to be able to control XBMC too, but I can't seem to find any Apple IR codes to program into the device.

It must be possible right? I mean, the Logitech universal remotes use IR and they can control Macs, so why couldn't this work?

If anybody knows how it'd be much appreciated Smile
Without a model number to reference I can only give backgrounding.

I worked as a home theater/ home automation installer for 8 years. Ran my on install company for 4. Was a dealer for Harmony/ Logitech for 1. CEDIA certified CCPI1.

In most of those years Onkyo used a nearly impossible carrier of 138k just as Bang and Olufsen did. It required a 56k remodulation to get their products working with anything else like say a repeating system. This is actually a large stride forward for them. Again without a model number I can not go any further in helping with the Onkyo product.

Logitech rents their database from other companies. Thus we do not get an "application" to program with when we buy a harmony remote. They do give us a web interface that accesses this database on the back end. With the Harmony connected to your computer via usb cable we get asked a series of questions about our A/V set up and the usually correct codes get downloaded and mapped to functions and buttons in the remote. Easy technology to sell but often hard to get working 100 percent seamlessly with no lagging.

Harmony also includes an IR receiver on the base of their remotes in the event that their codes are not working well. In the interface we are given the option to "learn" the command from the original remote. This helps with less than standard devices. Apple is very popular in custom install so their codes on the database are likely spot on.