Video was fine, now XBMC is complaining about my driver
I recently installed XBMC Live 9.11 on a machine with a dual-core Atom CPU and an 8400GS video card. I have no audio, but video has been working fine. After a recent reboot, I'm now getting a dialog box saying:

XBMC needs hardware accelerated OpenGL rendering
Install an appropriate graphics driver.
Please consult XBMC Wiki for supported hardware
(URL)

There's only one button- Quit. I click it and it takes me to an XBMCLive login prompt.

I'm a noob with this stuff, and I have no idea where to go from here. Please help!
You need to upgrade/re-install the graphical drivers. It happens when something in linux is updated..then the drivers "breaks".
vikjon0 Wrote:You need to upgrade/re-install the graphical drivers. It happens when something in linux is updated..then the drivers "breaks".
Thanks for the response! Can you please point me toward a noob-friendly procedure for doing that?
noob I dont know. I am not sure how this is intended to work in "live". I guess the best noob way is to re-install and not doing any updates.

It might also be easier to use the official ubuntu navidia driver that now support VDPAU on most cards(?). I dont have any code to install that in live though...this is what I have:

Quote:Install "restricted drivers" for NVIDIA from 3rd party PPA

sudo nano /etc/apt/sources.list
add
deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/nvidia-vdpau/ppa/ubuntu karmic main
Add key
sudo apt-key adv --recv-keys --keyserver keyserver.ubuntu.com CEC06767

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install linux-headers-generic nvidia-glx-195

sudo apt-get install pkg-config
sudo nvidia-xconfig -s --no-logo --force-generate

Could be wise to replece 195 with 190 or 185. 195 worked for me a week ago but I saw someting in the forum about problems.
Thanks! I ended up downloading the 195.26.15.run file from Nvidia's website. chmod +x and ran it. Video is good again. Now, back to trying to figure out how to get my audio to work...