Live 9.11 Installer Failing at "Install the System"
Hey guys,

I'm trying to install XBMC live 9.11 (repack) onto a 2.7GB usb key from the XBMC live CD.

The installer formats the USB key fine, but when it tries to install the system it gives the error "installation step failed", the same as found here:

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?p=4...#post46527

I was wondering if anyone has found any resolution for this? could someone point me in the right direction? I have zero linux experience, but am willing to learn where I can.

Any help is much appreciated.

Luke,
Any ideas? Anyone? I'm sure others have had this problem before, please could someone point me in the right direction?

Thankyou!
Smile
If you are making a "real" disk installation (not live in the real meaning) then I guess it stops because you are out of space?
vikjon0 Wrote:If you are making a "real" disk installation (not live in the real meaning) then I guess it stops because you are out of space?

I'm not sure I follow what you mean by "not live in the real meaning"?

However, There is plenty of space on the USB key, it barely starts installing (maybe gets to 10% or less) and crashes out, giving the error described above.

Just to clarify, I burned the XBMC live 9.11 repack.iso to a CD, put the CD in the drive, booted from the CD, used it to do a guided format (and later a manual format, neither helped) and when it gets to "install the system" step, it fails.

Any ideas? has anyone else had this problem?

I would really love to get a USB version of XBMC working so I can demo it to my friends/show off how awesome XBMC is.
shameless bump Smile
no-one else has come across this problem at all?
The only times I have seen this is when there is no space or the cd is damaged.
Sorry if I'm missing something here, but why not just use unetbootin to create a bootable usb? It worked for me...