Live 9.11 crashes to the terminal when using certain skins...
Hi all,

I'm a newbie of sorts so I am doing my best to post this as per the sticky above (how to post in a useful manner) but please forgive me if I do something irritating!

Any skins I've installed using Patkhoo's Skin Installer script (http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=56423) seem to crash XBMC to the terminal. Once they are loaded XBMC is fine until I touch a key. If it doesnt crash immedietly it will once I try to go into a sub menu (movies, music etc)

I have asked about this in the related thread already but I thought this may go beyond that and be more a of a general Linux problem.

I have installed the latest nVidia drivers for my 8400. The default skin, and bog standard Aeon (that I installed manually myself) work without issue.

From the log file I managed to find, at the end of the file (obviously right before it crashes) I get this:

Quote:ERROR: Texture manager unable to load file: special://profile/Thumbnails/Video/Fanart/2aeea33e.tbn

There are a few other errors a little earlier including the likes of a
Quote:ERROR: DS: Failed to connect to the D-Bus session daemon: Empty address''

and

Quote:ERROR: GLX: Same window as before, refreshing context

Any assistance would be wonderful, and naturally if I can provide further information please let me know. I have posted everything here in the specific skin forum as well so hopefully its in the right place somewhere!

Regards,

- Matt.
Well I'm getting absolutely no where doing this by myself...

I have reformatted my HDD, and re-installed Live 9.11. Same thing. I will be using a skin (in this case AEON65) and then it will just crash to the terminal - that little 'X' comes up as the cursor, the screen goes blank and the next thing I know I'm being prompted for my login credentials.

This is happening with the standard Aeon Skin, Alaska, Alaska Revisited, and AEON65. But never with the default skin.