Patched AppleTV: Anyone using a multi-bay USB HDD Enclosure with one?
I am very new to XBMC with AppleTV but getting up to speed slowly.

When I was first thinking about using it with a patched AppleTV, I was looking into 4 or 5 bay external USB HDD enclosures to pair with it. However, it seemed all of the units I looked at have a 2TB limit when using a spanning type mode so it didnt make much sense for me. (I wanted to use a SansDigital model)

I opted for 1 Exeternal USB enclosure instead but with a single 2TB drive. (Seagate model).

My question is for those who may actually be using a Multiple Bay External USB mini-tower type enclosure with a patched AppleTV. (4 or 5 bays)

What brand/model is working for you and how much storage can it handle?

Can you get more than 2TB of local hard disc storage with an AppleTV?
I dont mean streaming from a NAS or something like that. I mean a DEDICATED storage unit?

Thanks
I'm using a Sans Digital TR4U, which is a 4-bay, in JBOD mode. There's 4-2tb drives, which all mount separately on my media server (Mac min), accessed by the ATV. I love the thing...quiet, solid build, looks good and seems fast enough. The only bottleneck can be copying files from one drive in the case to another drive in the case.
Hi,

Yes, that Sans Digital you mentioned is one of the models I had been thinking of.

However, I read the specs and some reviews and it advised that you are limited to a total drive capacity of 2TB when in spanning mode I think?? (Something to do with the firmware).

Given that the AppleTV only has 1 USB port and the the volume label of the external storage has to be MYATV for the patched machine to recognize the external drive, I am not sure it would work if directly connected to the AppleTVHuh

Ideally, I would love to be able to use a unit like that and get 8TB of storage. They also have a 5 bay model I believe.