video modes question
so...I am brand new to xbmc.

I have a Hewlett Packard Hybrid that came with Windows Vista, which I have upgraded to Win 7. I have this connected to my TV (Toshiba 47" 1080i connected using HDMI)

I downloaded the XBMC Live disc and booted that. Whenever any options appear on the screen while XBMC Live is booting, I miss a huge portion of it to the left. When I try to slect a video mode, i cannot see the codes on the left to select one. I have tried changing the TV settings to view this but none help.

When I eventually got XBMC to boot, i went into the settings and managed to bring the misisng edges on to the screen (overscan settings) but it doesnt help me see the other options. I realise that this may be due to the read-only status of a CD, would it change if i installed on my HDD?

My MAIN issue though is that once XBMC had started, i only had 3 option in the resolution (?) settings....two of them being Huhx576 and the other one being "windowed".

I really like the look of XBMC but want it running at 1080i..the hardware cant be the problem as under windows, 1080i is automatically selected and runs perfectly.

Any suggestions would be HUGELY appreciated

Thanks
davehx
OK...22 views but no replies.

Is there any other info I could post that might help someone come up with a suggestion??
what is your tv model? since you keep saying 1080i chances are it's not 1080p and therefore you won't get a 1920x1080 resolution. i'm willing to bet it's a 720p tv running 1366x768 or something of the sort and that's why live is showing you the resolutions it is. just because windows says it's displaying at 1080i (which isn't a resolution btw) doesn't mean it really is. windows may be transmitting 1920x1080 but since your tv doesn't have the pixels it is downscaling the image.

if you have a spare usb stick sitting around i'd suggest installing live onto that and running jumjum's script for proper tv settings: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=70068