XBMC Versions
I am very new to XBMC so some of my questions may seem trivial. I am very fluent in Windows, and PC hardware, but with regard to Linux, I can to some bash work and navigate around. I have a Dune player and all my movies (Bluray or DVD rips) seem to play okay. I get nice clear video at 1080p and good multichannel audio including the Hidef codecs. The Dune player connects to the A/V processor over HDMI. At this time the only rip that is giving me issues on the Dune player is Avatar.

I bought an ASrock (ASUS) ion-330 PC to play with XBMC. I have connected it to the network (no issues); a VGA display so I can play with it and adjust the Bios, and I have it feeding my A/V processor over HDMI. The A/V processor can handle just about anything thrown at it and decode all HD codecs.

I configured three partitions on the internal hdd.

1) Windows XP 64
2) Ubunto 9.04 (no XBMC yet)
3) XBMC Live loaded .

Under Windows XP:

I can not get digital audio out and it is not an XBMC issue. No matter if I try the Nivdia HD or Realtek HD audio I can not get sound. Can not even get a sound output from the sound control panel trying to just play the standard window sounds. I suspect the problem is that I can not figure out how to configure the digital audio output to go to HDMI as opposed to analog or S/PDIF.

If I load XBMC (windows version) I get no audio although XBMC is configured for digital output over HDMI, and video almost looks as if it is playing in slow motion with a profound jerkiness to the display, as if it frezzes for a couple of milliseconds every seond or two (Switching buffers?)

Straight UBUNTU: How do I tell it that I want its output to be via the HDMI connector (audio and video). I have not tried to install XBMC for linux in that partition yet.