XBMC standalone, starting from scratch.
Hey gang. Hope I'm not beating an old subject into the ground, but I could use some input.

I've been running an HTPC for about 6-7 years now, starting with MCE (for about 5 minutes) then BeyondTV. Over time, I've tried other media players out there, for example MediaPortal, then eventually XBMC, as of this year. I've been running on top of XP for 7 years solid, now on some ghettofied hardware that's starting to crap out on me.

I'm thinking of cutting WinXP straight out of the deal and booting directly into XBMC. I'm almost completely sold on the new Zotac Zbox demoed on the front page, but I still have questions.

First off, XBMC seems to have its own live CD. Is this on top of Linux or is this its own OS? I want to be able to boot straight into XBMC, but not a live CD/USB, I want to be able to save files and settings. How are most of you accomplishing this?

Second, XBMC has been great for me, mainly because of it's excellent application switching, I can seemlessly go from my PVR (BeyondTV) and back. My first issue is, cutting Windows out of the deal cuts out my HD PVR, running off a Hauppauge WinTV HVR-1950. How will I handle TV Tuning, scheduling and recording?

On the live CD, how does it handle file storage and networking? Does it work over Windows/Samba?
Ninety-9 SE-L Wrote:Hey gang. Hope I'm not beating an old subject into the ground, but I could use some input.

I've been running an HTPC for about 6-7 years now, starting with MCE (for about 5 minutes) then BeyondTV. Over time, I've tried other media players out there, for example MediaPortal, then eventually XBMC, as of this year. I've been running on top of XP for 7 years solid, now on some ghettofied hardware that's starting to crap out on me.

I'm thinking of cutting WinXP straight out of the deal and booting directly into XBMC. I'm almost completely sold on the new Zotac Zbox demoed on the front page, but I still have questions.