XBMC live Acer Revo, external HD's Formatted for mac
Hi, I was going to purchase an Acer Revo and install xbmc live. The problem is I used to own a mac mini and formatted my external hds for mac. Will this be a problem for xbmc live? Thanks
Depending on what format you picked for your Hard Drives, then most likely they won't work at all.

Mac's standard is using HFS+ with Journaling on.

If your Acer Revo is running a form of Windows, you'd need a third party plug-in for the machine to mount HFS+ volumes at all.

Same goes for running XBMC in Linux. Not even sure if there is an add on you can use to mount HFS+ with Journaling in Ubuntu.

Easiest things, would be simply move the content off the drive(s), reformat them to NTFS or FAT32 or find third party software to mount HFS+ volumes on your OS running XBMC.
- Blackstar
Ahhh man I was afraid of this... I am guessing there is no hope using these drives with XBMC Live since it uses Linux. I am an ubuntu noob and googled a HFS application to mount the drive in ubuntu but didnt seem to find any luck. Also another question is would I be able to upgrade the hard drive for the REVO?

EDIT: I found this link

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=92141
fsck.hfsplus -f /dev/sda2
mount -t hfsplus -o rw,force /dev/sda2 dst

where /dev/sda2 is your disk (change to match the real device)
and dst is some mount point that you have created.
Sorry for the dumb question but..I am guessing this will give me read and write access. And that is input into the terminal davezilla?
Alternately, just plug the drives into the mac mini then use samba to share them to the Revo.
I thought of that too but I dont know how well streaming 720p and 1080p movies will perform
The commands davilla gave you are indead meant to be entered in a terminal. You might need to install extra software (I don't run Ubuntu myself).