xbmcmodule compiled as a shared library for PyDev?
First day looking through source code on this project (well, for the last few years anyway, actually, first day with Python ever). Thanks for the great tutorial on getting PyDev working (in Eclipse). I have XBMC running on my linux based HTPC while debugging from my laptop.

The only problem I have now is that, since I'm new to python development (and therefore new to xbmc script development) it would be great to get autocompletion on xbmc, xbmcaddons, xbmcgui, etc. I think (and please correct me if I'm wrong) this requires compiling a .so version of xbmcmodule and including it in a zip file then adding it to the PYTHONPATH and then to "Forced Builtins" in Eclipse.

Has anyone done this and if so, can the relevant Makefile changes be provided here (if not added as an option to the configuration step)?

Thanks. Please let me know if I misunderstand something about the way this works.

Jim

Edit: I'm running on Linux (Ubuntu 10.04, with XBMC SVN revision 31822)
I suspect you're embarking into new territory as far as everyone is concerned. The modules are located in xbmc/lib/libPython. As you can appreciate, they rely quite a bit on XBMC itself, so I'm not sure how easy it would be to build a .so.

Cheers,
Jonathan
Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.

Thanks for the reply.

Having spent the last 10 years doing java development, linking shared libraries is a bit esoteric for me, but I noticed that a static library is built for the that module so I figured linking a shared library (maybe even by simply including the shared library and exporting all of the functions/globals) wouldn't be that difficult.