Noob here, idiot proof
Question 
Hello all,

I know nothing about computers, have enough trouble switching on my mac,
But it seems from what i have read off the net xbmc seems to be the best,

But i think its not idiot proof, if you have no knowledge of computers and a like, xbmc is just not there yet, i even brought a acer revo 3610, thinking it was going to be like falling off a log.

I did get the mac version to work, but i dont use my mac for films thats what the revo was going to be for.

Unless someone out there can point me in the direction of an idiot proof install,
Xbmc is not for me.

I think i might have to get a WDTV!!

cheers
:confused2:
Download XBMC Live and install that.... Easy as pie
Where did you run onto problems? Was it installing XBMC, using XBMC or was it probles getting Windows (or Linux if you use Linux) working?

JR
jhsrennie Wrote:Where did you run onto problems? Was it installing XBMC, using XBMC or was it probles getting Windows (or Linux if you use Linux) working?

JR

hi,

i followed the acer revo guide , downloaded the xbmc.zip iso burnt it to a cdr and installed it on the revo.

That part was ok, followed the rest of the setup, i managed to play some avi tv shows and got stereo sound through my 7.1 amp.

Then i tried to follow the install of the svn repo, thats when i came to a brick wall, i can see on here i should be able to see youtube and a like,

went to the scripts part on xbmc, nothing in there, now very lost
Ah, OK. To be fair, XBMC installed and worked fine. The svn repo stuff is a bit nerdy because it's not seen as a mainstream part of XBMC.

The new version, due soon, has completely overhauled the way addons like the Youtube downloader are handled, and hopefully makes them a lot easier to use. Think iPhone app store :-)

In the mean time, if you ask in the general support forum, http://forum.xbmc.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=111, someone can help you get the Youtube addon working. I don't use it myself so i can help.

JR