[WINDOWS] HOW-TO use MCE remote in XBMC under Windows the easy way

  Thread Rating:
  • 14 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
elitegamer360 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 833
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 14
Location: London, UK
Star  [WINDOWS] HOW-TO use MCE remote in XBMC under Windows the easy way
Post: #1
XBMCCustomRegis v2.71.58 Available now

SmartFocus and Multi-Monitor are two of the new features in the new release
visit the new Features page for full details

TROUBLESHOOTING SECTION

If my setup is not working for you then please look at the questions below and make sure you answer them fully when posting your problem on the forum, It will greatly help me figure out the problem and it will enable me to help you faster!

1- What Operating system are you using? The version of the OS i.e. Beta, Final Release, Ultimate etc..? 32bit or 64bit?
2- What Remote are using? Is it Microsoft Comaptible or is it Microsoft Certified?
3- Was the Remote Certified for use with Windows XP, Vista or Windows 7?
4- What IR receiver are you using? HTPC built-in or a USB one? Did the IR receiver come with your remote or did you buy it separately?
5- IF you are using a USB IR receiver have you got a built-in IR receiver in your HTPC by any chance? Have you disabled the Built-in IR receiver before using the USB one?
6- Is your IR Receiver listed as "Microsoft eHome Infrared Transceiver" under the "Human Interface Devices" in the "Device Manager"?
7- Have you tried any kind of software before trying my customised setup? Have you used any apps like EventGhost before using my setup? This is*IMPORTANT, if you used Eventghost in the past you might still have the "Hid service disabled" then you need to Enable the HID service again by*UNTICKING*"Disable hid Service"*in EventGhost.
8- Please let me know which version of the .reg file you used or if you used the Auto installer method?
9- If its Keyboard.xml issue, then please include what version did you use and where did you put it? Also if you changed anything in the Keyboard.xml in the system installation folder of XBMC?
10- Finally What XBMC version are you using?

TROUBLESHOOTING SECTION



ALL NEW UPDATES OR NEW INFO WILL GO HERE http://xbmccustomregis.sourceforge.net/ THREAD WILL STILL BE USED FOR SUPPORT AND UPDATE TRIGGERS/BUMPS Laugh Internet Explorer 8 is not compatible with my site I would recommend any other browser that use webkit instead.

Three Simple steps to get your remote up and running No other method is simpler than mine, I promise you the Customised setup takes care of every thing one time. Unlike other tutorials/setups only run basic configuration you have to figure out what you want yourself.


I would recommend you visit my Remote Setup page for full detailed step by step instructions for n00bs and config info for Camelot users. Includes info about Green Start Button Mapping kids/family frendily method, no more "Ctrl-Shift-W", "Ctrl-Shift-X" problems.

If you are after remapping buttons for n00bs click here for step by step tutorial or For a more know how technical approach Download PDF Tutorial from here or the easiest way ever to do it is to use Option A no tutorial reading required :-) Otherwise read this Wiki that has everything we ever know about MCE remotes Registry configuration data.




_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_
If you are looking for a setup that works with XBMC, WMC, WinDVD
and PowerDVD then check this dedicated thread. Related discussions here please.
_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_





Cheers,
EG.
(This post was last modified: 2014-09-07 18:51 by elitegamer360.)
find quote
Ram2000 Offline
Fan
Posts: 634
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 6
Post: #2
Thanks for this I use a One4All as I need to be able to use my other Devices aswell but I am looking for a quick way to get the remote working
On one of my other Setups and this looks alot quicker then what I normally have to do to get the remote to work.
find quote
elitegamer360 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 833
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 14
Location: London, UK
Post: #3
Ram2000 Wrote:Thanks for this I use a One4All as I need to be able to use my other Devices aswell but I am looking for a quick way to get the remote working
On one of my other Setups and this looks alot quicker then what I normally have to do to get the remote to work.

cheers for the feedback Wink Well I did not know that it works with One4All remote! Nice one Big Grin

[Image: elitegamer360.jpg]
[Image: newsigxbox05_3.png]
find quote
freddyemmer Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Thanx very much.!!!
find quote
hell_spawn27 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
ok..this might be a dumb a$$ question but I am relatively a noob...you had mentioned that an any RC6 remote would do?? Could you help me out and let me know which remotes are RC6 compliant??
find quote
jhsrennie Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 7,248
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 119
Location: Chester, UK
Post: #6
http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=Remote_Control_Reviews indicates remotes that we know are MS compatible. The safe option is just to buy a MS remote from eBay.

JR
find quote
athloni Offline
Fan
Posts: 312
Joined: Dec 2007
Reputation: 0
Thumbs Down   
Post: #7
Thanks!

Is it possible to change:

Teletext: Switch subtitles
Live TV: Switch audio language track
Guide: set subtiles on/off
find quote
elitegamer360 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 833
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 14
Location: London, UK
Post: #8
hell_spawn27 Wrote:ok..this might be a dumb a$$ question but I am relatively a noob...you had mentioned that an any RC6 remote would do?? Could you help me out and let me know which remotes are RC6 compliant??

Look at the link posted by jhsrennie, any compatible Microsoft Windows Media center remote will do Smile . I had to stay away from remotes with mouse pad pointers as some of the buttons are not 100% compatible but I might be wrong Smile


@athloni: I will look in to it for you when I get some free time I will post an updated file for you.

[Image: elitegamer360.jpg]
[Image: newsigxbox05_3.png]
find quote
jhsrennie Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 7,248
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 119
Location: Chester, UK
Post: #9
athloni Wrote:Thanks!

Is it possible to change:

Teletext: Switch subtitles
Live TV: Switch audio language track
Guide: set subtiles on/off

Use the Showkey app from mceremote.zip from http://xbmcmce.sourceforge.net/ to find out what those three keys send. On a standard MCE remote the keys send:

Teletext: don't know, lets say alt-T for the sake of this post
Live TV: ctrl-T
Guide: ctrl-G

so the entries you need in keyboard.xml are (remembering that I'm assuming the Teletext key sends alt-T):

<!-- Teletext: alt-T: Switch subtitles -->
<t mod="alt">nextsubtitle</t>
<!-- Live TV: ctrl-T: Switch audio language track -->
<t mod="ctrl">audionextlanguage</t>
<!-- Guide: ctrl-G: set subtitles on/off -->
<g mod="ctrl">showsubtitles</g>

See http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Mod...yboard.xml for notes on editing keyboard.xml.

JR
find quote
avus m3 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 245
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
hell_spawn27 Wrote:ok..this might be a dumb a$$ question but I am relatively a noob...you had mentioned that an any RC6 remote would do?? Could you help me out and let me know which remotes are RC6 compliant??

Check this one out on eBay (I bought this one). It works fantastic out of the box and has great IR reception. It uses the Microsoft eHome receiver and I believe a Dell remote.

I am trying to find a way to keep it setup to MCE for TV usage but work great for XBMC as well. Out of the box it is fantastic in both (for the most part). Info doesn't work in XBMC to show info though. I used the showkey app to display the button pushes and for some odd reason, Info doesn't show a command? I can map things like menu, codec info, etc easily enough to the num keys using the xml file and not break MCE use but I would like Info to pull up info in XBMC. Anyone know how I can bind this to the default MCE Info button?
(This post was last modified: 2010-08-25 23:03 by avus m3.)
find quote
dynamis_dk Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
Gonna give this a go myself later and see how i get on. I tried the John Rennie version of this earlier and although it made somethings work which didn't to start with, it then made some things worse. I understand the keyboard mapping stuff a bit better now so hopefully having read this over i should be able to get thing more how i want them
find quote
woodsdog_22 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
Thank heaps for this, it worked a treat, better then event ghost. I like the configeration of the buttons and even have the same remote picture in another post.
Just wanting to know if anyone can explain how to make one of the remote keys rotate photo's when viewing them, I thought select (like xbox), but any button will do? R on the keyboard does it now, but no remote button to do this?
I know xbmc is meant to auto rotate like windows does by some extention to the file or something, but its not. i mostly have JPG photo's.
find quote
frieten Offline
Fan
Posts: 352
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 2
Post: #13
wow thank you so much for this its just what i needed. i've installed xbmc for a few friends and family and its really dificult to try and explain to them how to setup a remote etc to work when they want to go that route. this will make things alot simpler!

also can you let me know if this will work?

http://www.expresspcparts.com.au/Items/K...vista/win7
(This post was last modified: 2010-09-07 09:27 by frieten.)
find quote
rendered Offline
Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: South Africa
Post: #14
Hi,

Could someone please paste the registry data here please. I seem to be having issues connecting to mediafire Sad Thanks!
find quote
avus m3 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 245
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
Here's what I have. Its the reg file but changes the info button to the default info key in xbmc. I used keyboard.xml to change * and # are TAB to switch full screen and context menu.

--------Here's the unmodified reg info:


Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\HidIr\Remotes\745a17a0-74d3-11d0-b6fe-00a0c90f57da]
"ReportMappingTable"=hex:\
00,00,00,00,04,00,27,\ ; 0
01,00,00,00,04,00,1e,\ ; 1
02,00,00,00,04,00,1f,\ ; 2
03,00,00,00,04,00,20,\ ; 3
04,00,00,00,04,00,21,\ ; 4
05,00,00,00,04,00,22,\ ; 5
06,00,00,00,04,00,23,\ ; 6
07,00,00,00,04,00,24,\ ; 7
08,00,00,00,04,00,25,\ ; 8
09,00,00,00,04,00,26,\ ; 9
0a,00,00,00,04,00,29,\ ; Clear - sends escape
0b,00,00,00,04,00,28,\ ; Enter - sends return
0c,00,00,00,04,04,3d,\ ; Power - was "03,82,00" sends alt-F4
0d,00,00,00,04,03,1a,\ ; Windows - sends ctrl-shift-W
0e,00,00,00,04,00,41,\ ; Mute - was "01,e2,00" sends F8
0f,00,00,00,04,01,07,\ ; Info - was "01,09,02" sends ctrl-D
10,00,00,00,04,00,43,\ ; vol up - was "01,e9,00" sends F10
11,00,00,00,04,00,42,\ ; vol down - was "01,ea,00" sends F9
12,00,00,00,04,00,2e,\ ; chan up - was "01,9c,00" sends equals
13,00,00,00,04,00,2d,\ ; chan down - was "01,9d,00" sends hyphen/minus
14,00,00,00,04,03,09,\ ; ff - was "01,b3,00" sends ctrl-shift-F
15,00,00,00,04,03,05,\ ; rew - was "01,b4,00" sends ctrl-shift-B
16,00,00,00,04,03,13,\ ; play - was "01,b0,00" sends ctrl-shift-P
17,00,00,00,04,01,15,\ ; record - was "01,b2,00" sends ctrl-R
18,00,00,00,04,01,13,\ ; pause - was "01,b1,00" sends ctrl-P
19,00,00,00,04,03,16,\ ; stop - was "01,b7,00" sends ctrl-shift-S
1a,00,00,00,04,01,09,\ ; next - was "01,b5,00" sends ctrl-F
1b,00,00,00,04,01,05,\ ; prev - was "01,b6,00" sends ctrl-B
1c,00,00,00,04,03,20,\ ; # - sends ctrl-shift-3
1d,00,00,00,04,03,25,\ ; * - sends strl-shift-8
1e,00,00,00,04,00,52,\ ; up
1f,00,00,00,04,00,51,\ ; down
20,00,00,00,04,00,50,\ ; left
21,00,00,00,04,00,4f,\ ; right
22,00,00,00,04,00,28,\ ; OK (return)
23,00,00,00,04,00,2a,\ ; back - was "01,24,02" sends Backspace
24,00,00,00,04,03,10,\ ; DVD menu - sends ctrl-shift-M
25,00,00,00,04,03,17,\ ; Live TV - sends ctrl-shift-T
26,00,00,00,04,01,0a,\ ; Guide - was "01,8d,00" sends ctrl-G
27,00,00,00,04,05,17,\ ; Unidentified top left button on Asrock remote - configured as ctrl-alt-T
47,00,00,00,04,01,10,\ ; Music - sends ctrl-M
48,00,00,00,04,01,12,\ ; Recorded TV - sends ctrl-O
49,00,00,00,04,01,0C,\ ; Pictures - sends ctrl-I
4A,00,00,00,04,01,08,\ ; Movies - sends ctrl-E
4E,00,00,00,04,05,13,\ ; HP remote: Print button - sends ctrl-alt-P
50,00,00,00,04,01,04,\ ; Radio - sends ctrl-A
5A,00,00,00,04,01,17,\ ; Teletext - sends ctrl-T
5B,00,00,00,04,05,1e,\ ; Red - sends ctrl-alt-1
5C,00,00,00,04,05,1f,\ ; Green - sends ctrl-alt-2
5D,00,00,00,04,05,20,\ ; Yellow - sends ctrl-alt-3
5E,00,00,00,04,05,21 ; Blue - sends ctrl-alt-4






------------Here's the modifed one I did:


Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\HidIr\Remotes\745a17a0-74d3-11d0-b6fe-00a0c90f57da]
"ReportMappingTable"=hex:\
00,00,00,00,04,00,27,\ ; 0
01,00,00,00,04,00,1e,\ ; 1
02,00,00,00,04,00,1f,\ ; 2
03,00,00,00,04,00,20,\ ; 3
04,00,00,00,04,00,21,\ ; 4
05,00,00,00,04,00,22,\ ; 5
06,00,00,00,04,00,23,\ ; 6
07,00,00,00,04,00,24,\ ; 7
08,00,00,00,04,00,25,\ ; 8
09,00,00,00,04,00,26,\ ; 9
0a,00,00,00,04,00,29,\ ; Clear - sends escape
0b,00,00,00,04,00,28,\ ; Enter - sends return
0e,00,00,00,04,00,41,\ ; Mute - was "01,e2,00" sends F8
0f,00,00,00,04,00,0C,\ ; Info - was "01,09,02" sends I
10,00,00,00,04,00,43,\ ; vol up - was "01,e9,00" sends F10
11,00,00,00,04,00,42,\ ; vol down - was "01,ea,00" sends F9
12,00,00,00,04,00,2e,\ ; chan up - was "01,9c,00" sends equals
13,00,00,00,04,00,2d,\ ; chan down - was "01,9d,00" sends hyphen/minus
14,00,00,00,04,03,09,\ ; ff - was "01,b3,00" sends ctrl-shift-F
15,00,00,00,04,03,05,\ ; rew - was "01,b4,00" sends ctrl-shift-B
16,00,00,00,04,03,13,\ ; play - was "01,b0,00" sends ctrl-shift-P
17,00,00,00,04,01,15,\ ; record - was "01,b2,00" sends ctrl-R
18,00,00,00,04,01,13,\ ; pause - was "01,b1,00" sends ctrl-P
19,00,00,00,04,03,16,\ ; stop - was "01,b7,00" sends ctrl-shift-S
1a,00,00,00,04,01,09,\ ; next - was "01,b5,00" sends ctrl-F
1b,00,00,00,04,01,05,\ ; prev - was "01,b6,00" sends ctrl-B
1c,00,00,00,04,03,20,\ ; # - sends ctrl-shift-3
1d,00,00,00,04,03,25,\ ; * - sends strl-shift-8
1e,00,00,00,04,00,52,\ ; up
1f,00,00,00,04,00,51,\ ; down
20,00,00,00,04,00,50,\ ; left
21,00,00,00,04,00,4f,\ ; right
22,00,00,00,04,00,28,\ ; OK (return)
23,00,00,00,04,00,2a,\ ; back - was "01,24,02" sends Backspace
24,00,00,00,04,00,10,\ ; DVD menu - sends M
26,00,00,00,04,01,0a,\ ; Guide - was "01,8d,00" sends ctrl-G





-------Here's my keyboard.xml file. Super simple because of changing the mce keys to default xbmc keys and leaving the play,pause. etc how they are because they work:


<keymap>
<global>
<keyboard>
<three mod="ctrl,shift">ContextMenu</three>

<eight mod="ctrl,shift">FullScreen</eight>

<zero>CodecInfo</zero>

<eight>Queue</eight>
</keyboard>
</global>
</keymap>
find quote
Post Reply